The American Academy of Forensic Sciences is a multi-disciplinary professional organization that provides leadership to advance science and its application to the legal system. The objectives of the Academy are to promote professionalism, integrity, competency, education, foster research, improve practice, and encourage collaboration in the forensic sciences.
The American Jail Association (AJA) is a national, nonprofit organization that supports the professionals who operate our Nation’s jails. It is the only national association that focuses exclusively on issues specific to the operations of local correctional facilities.
The American Society of Criminology is an international organization concerned with criminology, embracing scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the etiology, prevention, control and treatment of crime and delinquency.
Founded in 1977, FLEOA is a volunteer organization. Born out of necessity by a group of concerned agents from Customs, IRS-CI, TIGTA, FBI and INS, FLEOA's primary tenet was, and still is, legal assistance and representation are only a phone call away.
NCSC is the organization courts turn to for authoritative knowledge and information, because its efforts are directed by collaborative work with the Conference of Chief Justices, the Conference of State Court Administrators, and other associations of judicial leaders.
A national non-profit organization involved in community crime prevention. It brought us McGruff the Crime Dog. Click on "Topics" link on the top of the page for an excellent collection of crime & criminal justice-related links.
This site is very comprehensive for students interested in corrections. It includes discussion forums and shared files, so students can interact with professionals in the field. It also has articles, links to training material you can buy, and a news feed.
Chartered in 1940, the National Sheriffs' Association is a professional association dedicated to serving the Office of Sheriff and its affiliates through police education, police training, and general law enforcement information resources. NSA represents thousands of sheriffs, deputies and other law enforcement, public safety professionals, and concerned citizens nationwide.
is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which promotes decreased reliance on incarceration and increased use of more effective and humane alternatives. It is a nationally known source of criminal justice policy analysis, data and program information.
Crime Spider Crawls the Web for the Best Crime and Law Enforcement Sites. Crime, criminal justice, and legal research resource for educators, universities, writers, police and other law enforcement personnel. Crime Spider offers a directory of resources related to anti-terrorism, crime reduction and crime prevention, home security, national security, crime investigation, tools for crime solving, child safety, domestic abuse and child abuse hotlines, missing children sites, and educational progra
The Social Sciences Government Policy Gateway provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Use this site to find papers, reports, articles, educational materials, and organisational websites relating to all aspects of Government policy
This encyclopedia entry provieds a good summation of our country's response to terrorism. Its overview includes both the basic policy--deterrence and detection of vulnerabilities--and the departmes whic are charged with different tasks. Includes a bibliography to help find more information.
A unique law enforcement agency in the United States Department of Justice that protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products.
The Criminal Division develops, enforces, and supervises the application of all federal criminal laws except those specifically assigned to other divisions. The Division, and the 94 U.S. Attorneys have the responsibility for overseeing criminal matters under the more than 900 statutes as well as certain civil litigation.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. It supports local, state, tribal and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research.
is the world's largest international police organizations, with 187 member countries. Created in 1923, it facilitates cross-border police co-operation, and supports and assists all organizations, authorities and services whose missiion is to prevent or combat crime.
OVW administers financial and technical assistance to communities across the country that are developing programs, policies, and practices aimed at ending domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.
coordinates with all levels of criminal justice agencies in identifying their issues, developing statewide policies and programs and implementing innovative justice improvement solutions that enhance public safety.
provides notification to crime victims of the potential for inmate release and opportunity to provide testimony, notification of the inmate’s movement within the correctional system, referrals for crime victims to local programs, basic crisis intervention and support, general information on the status and location of the inmate as allowed by law, and notification of the expiration of an inmate’s maximum sentence or date of execution.
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its FJSRC, compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system. FJSRC's goal is to provide uniform case processing statistics across all
brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1,000 tables. The site is updated regularly as new statistics become available.
Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the U.S. at the state and metropolitan area levels. Selected data for component counties and central cities of metropolitan areas are also included.