Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Use these search strategies to help you find useful information quickly and effectively:
Keyword and Subject Searching
Quotation Marks for Phrase Searching
Let one good book or article lead you to others. Scholarly publications almost always have bibliographies or lists of works cited. Check these out! If the original source is useful to you, works used by the author may be valuable, too.
You can also see how a particular book or article is categorized and look for other works in that category.
Check out these searching tutorials for more information:
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
SportDiscus with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals, with full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. Full text for more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Indexes over 620 journals in several medical disciplines, including the full-text of 580 of those publications.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 22,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Developed by the George Institute for Global Health in Sydney, Australia.
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 178,000 articles more than 100 journals -- 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. BioMed Central views open access to research as essential in order to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings. A portfoliio of 265 journals, all research articles in BioMed Central's journals receive rapid and thorough peer review.
U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics. NLM promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.
Find an article we don't have at Mercyhurst? You can request articles and other materials through document delivery services provided by Mercyhurst libraries.
Our ILL service allows you to request articles, books, chapters from books, and conference proceedings to request from libraries all over the country. Choose the material you'd
like to request, log in using your Name and Mercyhurst ID Number, then
fill out the form as completly as possible and click 'Submit This
*Please check the holdings at Mercyhurst libraries before requesting materials through these services!
Selected Articles on Research Methods
Includes best practices for reporting various kinds of biomedical research.
Citing Statistics in APA
This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers.
American Journal of Sports Medicine news