Is the national trade association representing apparel, footwear and other sewn products companies, and their suppliers, which compete in the global market. Includes publications, resources, consumer information, industry links, statistics and restricted substances lists (RSL).

AATCC is the world’s leading not-for-profit association serving textile professionals since 1921. AATCC is providing test method development, quality control materials, and professional networking for thousands of members in 60 countries throughout the world.

"The purpose of the American Collegiate Retailing Association (ACRA) is to foster quality retail education at four-year college and graduate schools. It has important commitments to teaching of retailing, retail research, and administration of academic retail programs."

"Creates and delivers global color intelligence across industries. A membership based organization headquartered in New York City, The Color Association serves as forecast agent, specialized educator, and trusted advisor to color professionals whose responsibility is to ensure marketplace success for their color decisions in the realm of brand identity, product, service, communications, and spatial environments."

CMG's major focus is to identify the direction of color and design trends. CMG members then interpret that information into salable colors for manufactured products across all industries. Provides a forum for the exchange of information relating to all phases of color marketing, trends, design influences, merchandising and sales, education and industry contacts.

Advances the global understanding of all aspects of dress and appearance. Works to stimulate scholarship and encourages study in the rich and diverse field of costume.

CFDA is a not-for-profit trade association that leads industry-wide initiatives in addition to hosting the annual CFDA Fashion Awards, which recognize the top creative talent in the industry. The organization offers programs which support professional development and scholarships.

An industry association supporting direct marketing. The site includes some research and industry information as well as details about the association.

"The FGI mission is to be the pre-eminent authority on the business of fashion and design and to help its members become more effective in their careers. To do this, FGI provides insights on major trends in person, online and in print; access to business professionals and a gateway to the influence fashion plays in the marketplace."

Promotes the discovery, dissemination, and the application of knowledge and is a primary resource for its members in strengthening leadership and service to society. The ITAA advances excellence in education, scholarship and innovation, and their global applications.

"The association promotes and establishes industry standards and provides critical industry research and educational information about the industry with member companies servicing such classes of trade as: grocery, drug, mass, department, home & building centers, computer and office supply, electronic, value retailers, specialty and convenience retailers."

Industry's largest advocacy organization which advances the industry through professional seminars, trade conferences, publications and educational activities.

The world's largest trade association, its mission is to advance and protect the interests of the retail industry and to help retailers achieve excellence in all areas of their business.

"NSRA’s mission is to significantly improve the business performance of its members through continuing education programs, cost-saving benefits and services, and networking opportunities." Their website offers the resources to do this.

A trade association website. Gives contact information for all its members.

Provides an international forum for the exchange and dissemination of information about textiles worldwide, from artistic, cultural, economic, historic, political, social and technical perspectives. Serves the interests of textile specialists with symposia, publications, job postings, and links.

This site indexes and displays American and Canadian print advertisements from 1911 to 1955.

An extensive collection of advertising links maintained by the University of Texas-Austin.

"Brandeo is an online marketing resource that cuts through the clutter to update you on the need-to-know marketing ideas and insights that help build brands and increase sales."

Statistics found here include employment and unemployment rates, and consumer price index, wholesaler price index and producer price index, consumer expenditure, labor productivity and much more.

he Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.

Production and shipment reports for manufacturing industries. Not all industries are included and some information is only available as annual data.

A database of historical advertising images, 1850-1920.

One of the most comprehensive marketing sites, with topics of interest for students and researchers.

The Census Bureau is a major source of statistical information. It is one of the plasce that market research firms get their data. "Subjects A-Z" is a good place to start.

AAPN is the only international trade association representing the entire textile/apparel supply chain.

"Building the Market for Cotton through Research and Promotion -- From agricultural, fiber and textile research, market information and technical services, to advertising and public relations, fashion forecasts and retail promotions, we keep one goal in mind: To ensure that cotton remains the first choice among consumers in apparel and home products."

Delivers statistical reports about the global fiber, textile and apparel markets. Provides up to date prices on yarns and fibers in Asia and supply the latest apparel sourcing information including US/EU import prices and country of origin comparison.

"FabricLink.com is the trade-to-consumer online resource. The premier site for consumer textile education and product promotion. This site has a wealth of fabric resource and product educational information.

Includes fiber history, manufacturing and other links.

News, Markets & Analysis for the Nonwovens Industry.

This office of the International Trade Administration (OTEXA)
"oversees programs and strategies to improve the domestic and international competitiveness of the U.S. fiber, textiles and apparel industries and to assist importers and retailers in facilitating fair trade practices affecting textiles and apparel goods".

Business to business platform that connects thousands of suppliers to buyers.

Get the latest news, product offerings and industry updates --a marketplace for industry professionals.

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. This is the agreement on Textiles and Clothing.

" Apparel Search gives you the world of fashion online. It is one of the only web sites offering a comprehensive view of everything that is relevant to fashion and style. From our garment industry guide you will find jobs, factories, news resources, stores, wholesalers and much more ... "

"This site explores how color affects appetite, vision, sexuality, energy conservation, and its relationship to architecture and interior design."

Virtual Colour Museum where colour comes to life!

Global trend intelligence. Retail business analysis.

Launched in 1997, FashionTV today is a multi-media platform offering the most comprehensive and fastest review of global fashion.

"Fashion-era contains 760 content rich, illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History."

The Fashion Industry Search Engine! This site's editor has been gathering fashion data since 1996 and claim they have built the most comprehensive database in the industry.

Color and fabric trend forecasting for men's, women's and children's wear.

The mission of this site is to provide a virtual community dedicated to servicing the apparel industry by providing information and interactivity. It has two sections: markets where companies can list garments or textiles needed for the Apparel and Textile Industries.

"From first-hand runway show reports, to blogs & wikis, editorial shoots & trend forecasting, FashionWindows promises to be your window on fashion."

The world largest fashion database and photo archive of millions of fashion photos, videos, and more.

MG leadership in the fashion industry includes:
World's largest producer of fashion events
Top international modeling agency
Industry-leading event publications for fashion insiders
Fashion-related media programming

Model finder, rankings, blogs...latest campaigns and magazine covers.

This digital collection includes millinery, dressmaking, clothing and costume books from the UW-Madison collections. These books from the first half of the 20th century (1907 – 1940’s) include the history of clothing, styles of dress, fashion drawing, and design and construction of hats, clothing and costumes. Items in this collection will appeal to vintage clothing collectors, those studying costume design, fashion, and women’s history, and those who just enjoy reminiscing about days gone

Hosts over 35,000 web pages, 70,000 images, and two databases. This websites covers the history of the fashion / costume / textile industries. By Penny E. Dunlap Ladnier.

"Fashion-era contains 760 content rich, illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History."

"For those who seek knowledge and inspiration from visual materials, the Picture Collection Online presents more than 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923."

"The Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from The New York Public Library's vast collections. Some of the images in the Digital Gallery may be subject to third party rights such as copyright and/or rights of privacy/publicity."

Read up on the latest news in apparel & fashion.

The online fashion forecasting, trend reporting and news e-zine.

"Fashionista.com is an online explosion of personalities, companies, events and trends that shape the fashion universe. We chronicle the fashion trail from the runway to the first Canal Street knockoffs, while dishing the latest in supermodel gossip and finding the hottest new designers."

FLARE continues to be the magazine Canadian women turn to for the latest information on fashion, beauty, health and entertainment. As the magazine has grown, so has our reach to women across the country. FLARE now reaches more than 1.7 million women every month.

"Omiru is a style and shopping guide dedicated to real style for real people. We cover figure flattery, fashion trends, and an assortment of articles aimed at making style accessible to all."

The online home of fashion....

Philadelphia University's Website on textile arts, textile chemistry, textile technology and the textile industry.