Mercyhurst University Libraries: Physical Therapist Assistant: Articles

Physical Therapy Keywords

Ambulation or mobility

Assistive devices

Electrotherapeutics

Ergonomics

Exercise Therapy

Flexibility and Stretching

Gait or locomotor training

Hydrotherapy

Manipulation (Therapeutics)

Massage

Modalities

Musculoskeletal or orthopedic disorders

Neurological disorders

Physical Agents

Physical Therapy

Proprioceptors

Prostheses

Recreational Therapy

Rehabilitation

Sports Physical Therapy

Therapeutics, Physical

Thermotherapy

Google Scholar

Try These Databases First!

Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.

Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.

CINAHL Complete
Fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. Full text for more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
A free database of over 44,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
SportDiscus with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals, with full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine's database containing over 11 million references and abstracts in the field of Medicine.
Health Source Nursing
Indexes over 620 journals in several medical disciplines, including the full-text of 580 of those publications.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Academic Search Ultimate
Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Credo Reference
Through Credo Reference you can access over 3,000,000 full-text entries, from 317 titles and 60 publishers.
PsycARTICLES
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present
Directory of Open-Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering a variety of subjects and languages.

Journals at MU

List of Physical Therapy Journals

News, Journals and Magazines

CNN News
New York Times Health
PubMed Central
A free archive of life sciences journals.
The Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice
WebMD News

Physical Therapist Assistant: Articles

Physical Therapy Keywords

Google Scholar

Try These Databases First!

Journals at MU

List of Physical Therapy Journals

News, Journals and Magazines

About Us

University Links

Contact