The American Accounting Association promotes worldwide excellence in accounting education, research and practice.

"The American Bankers Association represents banks of all sizes and charters and is the voice for the nation's $13 trillion banking industry and its 2 million employees.."

"Features include robust search, member-only content, membership management, publication and email selection, RSS feeds, social media, AICPA TV, an AICPA News page and more".

American Management Association is a world leader in professional development, advancing the skills of individuals to drive business success.

"The American Marketing Association is the only organization that brings together marketers, across all specialties, to collaborate and inspire one another. Through relevant information, comprehensive training, and targeted networking, the AMA helps marketers deepen their marketing expertise, elevate their careers, and ultimately, achieve better results."

"is the unified voice of America's more than 10 million women-owned businesses representing the fastest growing segment of the economy."

"NHRA is focused on advancing the development of human resources management professionals throughout their career life cycle."

Online business journal of the Wharton School.

The Illinois Institute of Technology's resource. In June 1996, the Center received a grant from the National Science Foundation to put our extensive collection of codes of ethics on the web. They included those codes of ethics of professional societies, corporations, government, and academic institutions, of the over 850 codes we have in our paper archive, who gave us permission to include their code.

ERC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization, dedicated to independent research that advances high ethical standards and practices in public and private institutions.

"The Institute promotes business ethics and corporate responsibility. It works to increase public awareness and dialogue about international business ethics issues through such educational resources and activities as the Roundtable Discussion Series, the International Business Ethics Review and this website."

Provides a website dedicated to the small business start-up. Includes business plan examples and other advice for the new entrepreneur. This site also sells Business Plan Pro, a commercial product to assist in the development of business plans. However, much of the site's content is available free of charge.

is a searchable collection of over 3000 business plans from the Dot Com era.

Developed by the Small Business Administration (SBA), this online resource provides a comprehensive discussion of the core elements found in a business plan. While it does not include sample plans, it does provide a self-paced tutorial/worksheet to assist the business plan writer and numerous other useful SBA links. Also available in Spanish.

This website has useful forms for small business owners, including sample business plans.

Includes templates and examples for business and marketing plans.

Provides access to a large number of guides designed to assist the new business owner. The guides are available as downloadable pdf files.

Use the "Online Resources" link to find statistics, current news, and recent court decisions.

This site contains links to country law sites, international courts, and a wide variety of other useful international business law sites.

" It is the only federal agency with both consumer protection and competition jurisdiction in broad sectors of the economy. The FTC pursues vigorous and effective law enforcement; advances consumers’ interests by sharing its expertise with federal and state legislatures and U.S. and international government agencies; develops policy and research tools through hearings, workshops, and conferences; and creates practical and plain-language educational programs for consumers and businesses in a gl

FindLaw is a search engine for legal information that includes many useful business law items including links to common business legal forms and information particularly useful to small business.

The IRS provides in depth information about the tax procedures for each type of business structure.

The NLRB website provides a "Basic Guide to the National Labor Relations Act " (highlighted text on the main page) and the outcomes of NLRB decisions plus other useful publications.

This is a commercial site containing links to current articles. Scroll to the bottom to find the link to "Law and Compliance".

"when choosing the best form of business ownership or structure. The choice you make can have an impact on multiple aspects of your business, including taxes, liability, ownership succession, and others."

Publications of two divisions, Antitrust and Environment, may be of particular interest to business law issues.

Nonprofit supporting small businesses in environmental protection efforts

A collaborative workspace of competitive intelligence tools and resources designed to help you gather information from a variety of services and sources, in support of your competitive intelligence efforts.

A commercial website claiming it is one of the world's largest online resources for small businesses, providing essential tools and resources to start, grow, and manage a small business.

Helps small businesses understand their legal requirements and locate government services from federal, state and local agencies.

A complete collection of specific business encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Addresses the growing demands on professionals and their firms for tools to help them save time and work more productively.

Dr. Hossein Arsham's (from the Merrick School of Business, University of Baltimore) website on Strategic Decision Making.

is the leading agricultural information services provider to the North American corn, soybean, and cattle complex. Tracks market prices for livestock and grains.

Browse thousands of words and phrases selected by Financial Times editors and suggest new terms for the glossary.

"There are approximately 650 topics in the Library, spanning 5,000 links. Topics include the most important practices to start, develop, operate, evaluate and resolve problems in for-profit and nonprofit organizations. Each topic has additionally recommended books and related Library topics."

Article on Swiss Bank Accounts.

Published by Inc. magazine, this site contains broad coverage of business topics, including articles on topics such as human resources, and writing business plans, worksheets and forms, and newsletters.

The Wharton Schools searchable database of 1,500 articles on current business trends and interviews with business leaders.

"The website covers over 4000 companies, over 180 countries. It receives over 1.5 million hits per month. Topics include discrimination, environment, poverty & development, labour, access to medicines, health & safety, security, trade."

News, country profiles, forecasts, statistics and more

Export.gov is managed by the International Trade Administration. The U.S. Government has also strategically partnered with major corporations to help small and medium-sized U.S. companies begin and/or expand their export sales.

"A rich collection of thousands of international business resources selected based on content and usability. This section also includes our proprietary Market Potential Indicators and the Database of International Business Statistics."

ILO is a UN specialized agency promoting social justice and labor rights. This website provides topics, publications and statistics.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

The political risk insurance industry helps multinational enterprises and lenders mitigate risk through insurance against adverse government actions or war, civil strife, and terrorism.

"The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Our mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors."

A pdf of" The World Economic Outlook (WEO)" which presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. It focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects.

(ASM) provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee.

"The regional economic accounts tell us about the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. The estimates of gross domestic product by state and state and local area personal income, and the accompanying detail, provide a consistent framework for analyzing and comparing individual state and local area economies."

"The new Business Dynamics Statistics (BDS) are a product of the Center for Economic Studies of the U.S. Census Bureau. The annual series describes establishment-level business dynamics along dimensions absent from similar databases including firm age and firm size. "

Rankings in hundreds of categories, such as income, crime, most gay couples, most cars, shortest commute, biggest houses, best educated residents, and many more.

County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry.

"The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector."

A site devoted exclusively to "Measuring the Electronic Economy." This site features recent and upcoming releases, information on methodology, and background papers.

Downloadable economic data

The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents.

"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."

Links to statistics and information from more than 70 agencies in the U.S. Federal Government.

Serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Download, graph, and track 45,000 economic time series from 42 sources.

"dedicated to advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty. It offers a unique combination of resources for students, teachers, researchers, and aficionados of economic thought."

An NYU professor's directory of finance resources.

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 70 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics.

Money in politics-- See who is donating money to whom. Lobbyists, Activism, Elections.

Link corporate executives and board members of certain companies to others that they serve. Build a web of executives that heavily influence political and entrepreneurial decision making.

An artificial/machine learning database that has been trained to update company information from web-based resources.

Free online annual reports

(ASM) provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee.

Lookup company info, finances, etc

Provided by the Manufacturing and Construction Division of the US Census Bureau, provides high quality industrial sector information and data.

Downloadable economic data

Search thousands of company's histories.

Search for non-profit companies...

Over a hundred industry pages compiled by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Up-to-date statistics.

One of the most efficient ways to research an industry is search by The North American Industry Classification System for that industry. You can find the industry code on this list.

Provides PDF versions of company annual reports. Can be searched by company name or ticker symbol. Must register.

This page allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC, and to examine the manual structure.

SmartBrief provides highly valued, trusted news and communication services for industries, associations, professional societies and corporations. SmartBrief is an excellent way of keeping abreast to changes in companies and breaking news. Fast and open to everyone.

Search, view, and download information on over 2 million nonprofit and 501c organizations across all US states and territories with income totaling almost $4 trillion and assets over $5 trillion!

Lists more than 168,000 U.S. manufacturing firms and includes information about the products they make.

Search this website with free company profiles.

From New York State Society of CPAs.

State tax comparisons, state tax tables, and links to research reports and newsletters.

"The Internal Revenue Service is the nation's tax collection agency and administers the Internal Revenue Code enacted by Congress."

"The mission of the FASB is to establish and improve standards of financial accounting and reporting for the guidance and education of the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of financial information."

Because CPAs are licensed at the state level, every state has its own requirements. We’ve compiled all the information you’ll need to make the best decision for you.

"Discover how the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation carries out its mission to maintain the stability of the nation's banking system."

A subject index to periodicals and research reports issued by the Federal Reserve Board and the regional Federal Reserve Banks.

Directory of links covering all aspects of human resources.

"HR.com is in business to help build great companies by connecting them to the knowledge and resources they need to effectively manage the people side of business. As the global authority, we deliver HR Best Practices to help organizations build great companies through community, collaboration, research, shared best practices, and measurements."

OSHA is the main federal agency charged with the enforcement of safety and health legislation.

Principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

Provides various useful resources for HR professionals including HR news, tools, services, such as a vendor directory and a list of events, and a community, including the ability to ask questions of experts.

A magazine website for HR professionals. Crain Communications Inc. is a privately held company focused on providing management information and marketing services to human resources (HR) professionals.

Listen to podcasts on topics from "Stocks and Bonds" to "Choosing a Financial Professional" to 'Wise Investing."

Covers topics regarding investments, investment schemes and work at home schemes for potential investors.

FINRA provides regulatory oversight for U.S. securities firms. Individual investors can use the site's helpful articles and calculators for evaluating investment options.

Monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity helpful for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.

Images from ads published between 1911 and 1955.

Marketing and advertising news

AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.

A free completely integrated online library by Carter McNamara, MBA, PhD, Authenticity Consulting, LLC.
Adapted from Field Guide to Nonprofit Program Design, Marketing and Evaluation.

Latest news, columns, research, videos on "branding".

"The marketingsource.com article library contains thousands of articles on topics of interest to business owners, marketing professionals, and much more. New articles are added daily."

Images and information about advertising in the United States from 1850-1920.

"Over 2,800 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States." Provided by Duke University.

"The ASAE Gateway to Associations Directory is easy to use and is updated daily to help you make networking more convenient. This directory service takes you directly to many of the associations currently operating on the World Wide Web. The search results provide a list of associations that meet your selection criteria."

The Guide to finding Marketing Research Services.

Provides up-to-date news regarding new industry developments.

Online tutorials for marketing research, customers, product management, distribution, promotion, pricing and more.

KnowThis.com is committed to providing quality information and valuable tools for business professionals, academics and students of marketing and related fields.

A daily online newsletter. MarketingCharts is a Watershed Publishing publication. It is published daily in the US.

Quirk's Marketing Research Review is the leading magazine in the Market Research Industry. Free registration required for access.

Information about marketing plans

"The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Employment and Training Institute provides comparison data on purchasing power, business activity, and workforce density for all census tracts, residential ZIP codes, and the 100 largest metro areas in the U.S."

Under the U.S. Legal in the left hand column, you will find a patent search in our Lexis Nexis database.

The Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.

Large lecture library on a wide range of academic topics...check out the marketing section!

MIT World is a free and open site that provides on demand video of significant public events at MIT. MIT World's video index contains more than 800 videos. Browse the Videos

They have 1400+ videos on YouTube covering everything from basic arithmetic and algebra to differential equations, physics, chemistry, biology and finance which have been recorded by Salman Khan