General Websites
- Co-op AmericaNon-profit organization focused on economic strategies that solve social and environmental problems. Mobilize and educate people as consumers, investors, workers, and business leaders.
- Sustainability Institute"Through workshops, leadership development, and consulting, they provide tools of systems thinking and organizational learning to clients and partners working on issues of sustainability, helping them to be more strategic, engage multiple stakeholders, and learn continuously."
- Sustainability Program of EPA's Office of Research and Developmentmaintains this Web site to provide easy access to EPA programs and research activities.
- The Natural StepThe Natural Step is a non profit organization founded with the vision of creating a sustainable society. For two decades, The Natural Step has been at the forefront of international research and dialogue about sustainable development. We have developed a proven, science based model that helps communities and businesses better understand and integrate environmental, social, and economic considerations.
- WorldWideScience.OrgFederated search developed by the Department of Energy that coves national and international government science resources.
Recycling
- Waste Management - RecyclingWaste Management is the trash and recycling collector for Mercyhurst College. Check out their recycling page for types of what to recycling and how.
- Funding FactoryMercyhurst College recycles ink and laser printer cartridges, and cell phones through the Funding Factory located in Erie, PA.
Organizations/Associations
- Alliance for SustainabilityNon-profit organization supporting sustainability projects on the local, national and international levels. Through their programs and outreach, "the Alliance has mobilized thousands of citizens and conscious consumers, congregations and communities to move toward sustainability."
- American College and University Presidents' Climate CommitmentMercyhurst College joined the American College and Univerisity Presidents' Climate Commitment in 2007. ACUPCC's mission is to accelerate progress towards climate neutrality and sustainability by empowering the higher education sector to educate students, create solutions, and provide leadership-by-example for the rest of society.
- Assoiciation for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher EducationAASHE is an association of colleges and universities that are working to create a sustainable future. Provides resources, professional development, and a support network.
- National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition"An alliance of grassroots organizations that advocates for federal policy reform to advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities."
Carbon Calculators
- Clean Air-Cool Planet - Campus Carbon CalculatorClean Air-Cool Planet provides a carbon calculator for higher education campuses to determine Greenhouse Gas Emissions.
- Household Emissions CalculatorE.P.A.'s Household Emissions Calculator - What's your personal carbon footprint?
- myfootprint.org"The Ecological Footprint Quiz estimates the amount of land and ocean area required to sustain your consumption patterns and absorb your wastes on an annual basis."
Safer Products
- Fueleconomy.govFind your car and see how it compares side by side to other cars fuel economy.
Multimedia
- N.P.R.'s Power HungryN.P.R.'s series on "Reinventing the U.S. Electric Grid".
- Ted Talk's Video (Ideas worth spreading)Videos on various speakers on TED.com. Search sustainability.
Agriculture
- Alternative Farming Systems Information Center"specializes in identifying resources about sustainable food systems and practices in support of USDA's effort to ensure a sustainable future for agriculture and farmers worldwide. "
- American Farmland Trust"The nation's leading conservation organization dedicated to saving America’s farm and ranch land, promoting environmentally sound farming practices and supporting a sustainable future for farms."
- Economic Research Service - U.S. Department of Agriculture"The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture."
- Local HarvestUse this website to "find farmers' markets, family farms, and other sources of sustainably grown food in your area, where you can buy produce, grass-fed meats, and many other goodies."
- National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition"is an alliance of grassroots organizations that advocates for federal policy reform to advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities."
- National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service (ATTRA)"The National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service covers the latest in sustainable agriculture and organic farming news, events and funding opportunities, plus offers in-depth publications on production practices, alternative crop and livestock enterprises, innovative marketing, organic certification, and highlights of local, regional, USDA and other federal sustainable agriculture activities."
- Rodale Institute"is dedicated to pioneering organic farming through rigorous scientific research, advocating for policy change to support farmers and sharing our knowledge."
- Sustainable Agriculture Research and EducationThe Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) program has helped advance farming systems that are profitable, environmentally sound and good for communities through a nationwide research and education grants program.
- Sustainable Food Laboratory"The mission of the Sustainable Food Lab is to accelerate the shift of sustainable food from niche to mainstream." Collaboration of businesss, governments, farm groups and non-governmental organiztions to make food systems more economically, environmentally, and social sustainable.
Architecture and Interior Design
- American Institute of Architects - Local Leaders in SustainabilityThe American Institute of Architects is serving as a facilitator to provide information on implementing comprehensive green building policies in our nation's communities. Local Leaders in Sustainability - Green Incentives is an analysis of the current state of green building incentives at the state and local level.
LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) is an internationally recognized green building certification system, providing third-party verification that a building or community was designed and built using strategies aimed at improving performance across all the metrics that matter most: energy savings, water efficiency, CO2 emissions reduction, improved indoor environmental quality, and stewardship of resources and sensitivity to their impacts.
- GBCI - Green Building Certification Institute"GBCI coordinates the work of global certification bodies with expertise in validating international standards (ISO-compliance), ensuring that the third-party certification and verification of buildings under the LEED Rating System is of the highest quality and integrity."
- Green Building Alliance - Western PennsylvaniaGreen Building Alliance (GBA) is devoted to helping Western Pennsylvania find smart solutions for the built environment.
- U.S. Green Building CouncilDeveloped by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), LEED is intended to provide building owners and operators a concise framework for identifying and implementing practical and measurable green building design, construction, operations and maintenance solutions.
Biofuels and Biomass
- Great Lakes Bioenergy Research CenterThe GLBRC's mission is to perform the basic research that generates technology to convert cellulosic biomass to ethanol and other advanced biofuels.
- Hero - BXThe HERO BX plant is situated on the shores of Lake Erie. and its advantage lies in their ability to produce biodiesel using multiple feedstocks, primarily from vegetable oils and waste oils.
- Alternative Energy SourcesRenewable Resources Coalition is a research-based environmental publication, covering a range of topics from Solar, Wind, & Nuclear energy - to various social & economic issues that affect our planet.
Communities
- One Planet CommunitiesThis is a non-profit organization that works to create sustainable communities throughout the word. They follow a list of 10 guiding principles that have sustainability at the core.
- Smart Communities Network"Offers great resources, tools, links to articles and publications, and community success stories on a variety of topics from Community Energy, to Green Development, to Sustainable Business."
Economics
- E. F. Schumacher SocietyEducational non-profit organization demonstrating that social and environmental sustainability can be achieved by applying the values of human-scale communities and respect for the natural environment to economic issues.
- New Economics Foundation"an independent think-and-do tank that inspires and demonstrates real economic well-being. We aim to improve quality of life by promoting innovative solutions that challenge mainstream thinking on economic, environment and social issues. We work in partnership and put people and the planet first."
Environment
- Center for Clean Air Policy"CCAP is a worldwide leader in developing and implementing market-based solutions that balance both environmental and economic interests."
- Earth Trends"A comprehensive online database, maintained by the World Resources Institute, that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world."
- Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Large FacilitiesInteractive tool from the EPA. This facility-level data provides a "bottom-up" accounting of the major sources of GHG emissions associated with stationary fuel combustion and industrial processes. Well over half of total U.S. greenhouse gas emissions are accounted for in this facility level data set, including nearly complete coverage of major emitting sectors such as power plants and refineries.
- Natural Resources Defense Council"NRDC's mission is to safeguard the Earth: its people, its plants and animals and the natural systems on which all life depends."
- Smart Growth Networkhelps create national, regional and local coalitions to support intelligent and sustainable growth.
- U. S. Environmental Protection AgencyExamines sustainability and provides links to EPA programs and tools.
- United Nations Environment Program - World Conservation Monitoring Center"The UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) is a collaboration between the United Nations Environment Programme, the world's foremost intergovernmental environmental organization, and WCMC 2000, a UK-based charity."
Energy
- American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE)"America’s leading center of expertise on energy efficiency with a reputation for quality, credibility, the applicability of our work, and our bipartisan approach. ACEEE’s technical work is widely relied upon by policymakers, business and industry decision-makers, consumers, the media, and other energy professionals."
- Center For Energy Efficiency And Renewable Technologies"CEERT is a partnership of major environmental groups and private-sector clean energy companies. We design and fight for policies that promote global warming solutions and increased reliance on clean, renewable energy sources for California and the West."
- DOE Energy Efficiency and Renewable EnergyThe US Department of Energy site specific to energy efficicency and renewable energy sources including current funding options, and the newest research.
- Energy StarEnergy Star is a organization through the EPA and DOE. the website provides information on energy management and energy efficicency for both homeowners and businesses.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory"NREL is the only federal laboratory dedicated to the research, development, commercialization and deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies."
- US Department of EnergyThe DOE provides information on Science & Technology, Energy Sources, Energy Efficiency, The Environment, Prices & Trends, National Security, and Safety & Health.
- American Solar Energy SocietyEstablished in 1954, the nonprofit American Solar Energy Society (ASES) is the nation's leading association of solar professionals & advocates. Their mission is to inspire an era of energy innovation and speed the transition to a sustainable energy economy. They advance education, research and policy.
- American Wind Energy AssociationAWEA is a national trade association representing wind power project developers, equipment suppliers, services providers, parts manufacturers, utilities, researchers, and others involved in the wind industry. In addition, AWEA represents hundreds of wind energy advocates from around the world.
Alternative Transporation
- Erie Metropolitan Transit AuthorityMercyhurst College students, staff and faculty can ride the EMTA for free. Check out their website for bus schedules.
- Guide to the Electric CarThis site has compiled several resource links for information regarding electric cars.
