Exercise Science: Websites

pormotes and supports leadership, research, education and best practices in the professions that support creative, healthy and active lifestyles.

promotes and integrates scientific research, education, and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health, and quality of life.

"Offers valuable resources for teaching physical education, physical activity, fitness, exercise, outdoor recreation and adventure, and more!"

"A nonprofit organization committed to enriching quality of life through safe and effective exercise and physical activity. As America’s Authority on Fitness, ACE protects all segments of society against ineffective fitness products, programs and trends through its ongoing public education, outreach and research. ACE further protects the public by setting certification and continuing education standards for fitness professionals."

"NASPE's mission is to enhance knowledge, improve professional practice, and increase support for high quality physical education, sport, and physical activity programs."

includes information on NATA publications, careers, university programs, ethics and research.

Shape Up America! is a not-for-profit organization commited to raising awareness of obesity as a health issue and to providing responsible information on healthy weight management

The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.

WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data.

From About.com

Tips on avoiding injuries from running. Descriptions of various injuries to the knees, ankles, tendons, and feet with information on shoes, stretching, the biomechanics of running, and much more. From a Podiatrist who specializes in Sports Medicine and Biomechanics.

is a global intitiative that promotes physical activity and exercise as a standard part of a disease prevention and treatment medical paradigm in the United States.

"A free resource for the exercise professional, coach, or fitness enthusiast featuring comprehensive exercise libraries (>1300 exercises), fitness assessment calculators, and reference articles."

The health, physical activity, fitness and sports information website of the Presiden'ts Council on Physical Fitness and Sports.

"is a research and educational facility established in 1985 to share current information and expand knowledge on sports nutrition and exercise science that enhance the performance and well-being of athletes. The materials and services of the Institute are designed as educational tools for sports health professionals."

Intute is a free online service that helps you to find the best web resources for your studies and research, brought to you by a consortium of U.K. University researchers.

This site will help you find useful information about manual muscle testing kinesiology, addresses to schoolsl, associations and journals, a muscle database, links to research papers, and several more link to other website about kinesiology.

"Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free."

Medpedia is a long-term project to advance collaborative, transparent health information among med professionals and the general public.

the muscle physiology lab; includes links, recent conferences and current projects at the lab.

The NCCSI collects and disseminates death and permanent disability sports injury data that involve brain and/or spinal cord injuries. The research is funded by a grant from the National Collegiate Athletic Association, the American Football Coaches Association, and the National Federation of State High School Associations.

"is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine."

quick and easy access to the wide range of information and data available about America's health.

"NISMAT's mission is to offer excellent sports medicine clinical services, multidisciplinary research and education to both allied health professionals and the community at large, and to provide its staff with the best resources available to accomplish the goals of the organization."

This site provides the latest information about developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children. To decrease obesity, they offer motivational kids fitness programs such as Log It and the PEC Challenge. We have over 1800 published lesson ideas.

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 15,500 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Sportsmedicine.com is committed in providing information and resources available on the web about sports medicine. Also, Sportsmedicine.com is dedicated to the promotion of health, wellness, and physical activity.

peer-reviewed journal and site that includes information on sports medicine, nutrition and training as well as articles.

is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data by the CDLC.

From the U.S.D.A., "this report examines major trends in the amount of food available for consumption in the United States between 1970 and 2005 using data from the ERS Food Availability (Per Capita) Data System. The report also estimates whether Americans are meeting Federal dietary recommendations for each of the major food groups by comparing the data with dietary recommendations in the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans and the MyPyramid Food Guidance System."

The FDA's site on food, ingredients, packaging and labeling.

"a Web site maintained by the Department of Nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health."

"Nutrition.gov provides easy access to the best food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers."

ExRx.net (Exercise Prescription on the Net) is a free resource for the exercise professional, coach, or fitness enthusiast featuring comprehensive exercise libraries, fitness assessment calculators, and reference articles.

interactive human anatomy tutorial, hevaily dependent on Java applets. Contains over 100 images and also includes descriptive links. Excellent resource for classroom presentations.

Merck’s interactive human body atlas and guide. (Scroll down to links) Also includes the Merck Manual, an OTC drug guide, a medical dictionary, and more.

Includes images, articles, downloadable ebooks, stretching exercises, the latest research, and much more.

Videos and articles. They "have assembled the sports industry’s leading medical and health experts – each sharing valuable, practical advice to keep you playing injury-free. You’ll learn from respected experts across several disciplines, from sports orthopedics, physical therapy, physical fitness, sports psychology, to nutrition, and even products and equipment. Their overall experience translates to your overall wellness."

"Learn CPR is a free public service supported by the University of Washington School of Medicine. Learn the basics of CPR - cardiopulmonary resuscitation." Videos and hand outs.