Finding Articles
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
The following are some suggested subject terms to use when searching:
** H1N1 (Influenza) Searchable Information Center
Databases
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
- CINAHL CompleteThis is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. Full text for more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionIndexes over 620 journals in several medical disciplines, including the full-text of 580 of those publications.
- SportDiscus with Full TextThe world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals, with full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
- PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database.PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 15,500 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- PsycARTICLESFull-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
- Pubmed CentralPubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
- BioMed CentralBioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. BioMed Central views open access to research as essential in order to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings. A portfoliio of 220 journals, all research articles in BioMed Central's journals receive rapid and thorough peer review.
- Academic Search UltimateAcademic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed full text journals. Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- MedlinePlusThe National Library of Medicine's database containing over 11 million references and abstracts in the field of Medicine.
- Nexis UniFeatures more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
- SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Subjects include Criminology, Criminal Justice, Demography, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Gender Studies, Marriage and Family, Religion, Sociology and Social Development, Substance Abuse as well as many others.
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryHSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Look under "Featured Topics" for information on Opioids, Pandemics and Epidemics.
Interlibrary Loan
Find an article we don't have at Mercyhurst? You can request these articles through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Interlibrary Loan
Our ILL service allows you to request articles, books, chapters from books, and conference proceedings to request from libraries all over the country. Choose the material you'd like to request, log in using your Name and Mercyhurst ID Number, then fill out the form as completly as possible and click 'Submit This Request'.
*Please check the holdings at Hammermill Library before requesting materials through this service!
Journals
Use the link below to access a list of journal titles, in this subject, held by Hammermill Library.
