Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Video, Podcasts and Sound Recordings.: Movies, T.V. and Videos

This guide provides a list of free online educational streaming videos, podcasts and sound recordings.

Veoh

Archive of American Television

Connect to The Archive of American Television

Hosted by the TV Academy Foundation this archive provides access to hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers.

These television history interviews can be  browsed by person, show, topic or profession. New interviews and indexes are added regularly.

Hulu


A partnership between NBC and ABC (Disney), Hulu is predominantly a site for television content. 

Hulu distributes video both on its own website and syndicates its hosting to other sites, and allows users to embed Hulu clips on their websites. In addition to NBC, ABC and FOX programs and movies, Hulu carries shows from other networks such as Comedy Central, PBS, USA Network, Bravo, FX, Syfy, Sundance, E!, and other commercial producers. 

The Channel link at the bottom of the Hulu homepage provides a broad subject organization of its content, including "News and Information" which includes sub-categories of Current News, Documentary & Biography, Live Events & Specials, and Politics.

Internet Archive

Connect to Internet Archive

The Moving Image Archive within the Internet Archive provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by Archive users, and ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.

Videos in the Archive are organized into 15 broad sub-categories:  Animation and Cartoons, Arts & Music, Computers & Technology, Cultural & Academic Films, Ephemeral Films, Home Movies, Movies, News & Public Affairs, Open Source Movies, Spirituality & Religion, Sports Videos, Video Games, Vlogs, and Youth Media.

Internet Movie Database

Connect to Internet Movie Database

Provides access to full-length films and television episodes, many in the public domain.  The alphabetic listing of titles links to the IMDB page that describes the film and provides a link to stream the video.  The link may redirect or pull the stream from another site such as the Internet Archive, SnagFilms, or Hulu.

Veoh

Connect to Veoh

Provides access to videos from major content publishers like CBS, ABC, WB, MTV Networks, ESPN, Sony/BMG and Lions Gate, other video sites like YouTube and Hulu, as well as independent filmmakers and content producers.

Users can sort content by type using pull-down menus for Videos, TV Shows, or Movies, each with sub-menus including categories such as Documentary & Biography.

Brief commercials precede video playback.

Watching full-length videos via Veoh requires installation of the Veoh Web Player.

YouTube

Connect to YouTube

Perhaps the best known of all steaming video sites, YouTube is a subsidiary of Google, Inc . The site displays a wide variety of user-uploaded video content, including movie clips, TV clips, and music videos, as well as amateur content such as video blogging and short original videos.

Most of the content on YouTube has been uploaded by individuals, but some media corporations including CBS, the BBC, and other organizations offer some of their material via the site, as part of the YouTube partnership program.

Due to the 10 minute limit on YouTube uploads (partners can load longer videos), many programs on the site are divided into several parts.

YouTube can be a source of last resort for out-of-print and hard-to-find content.