Physician Assistant Program: Websites

Their mission is to "ensure the professional growth, personal excellence, and recognition of physician assistants, and to support their efforts to enable them to improve the quality, accessibility, and cost-effectiveness of patient-centered healthcare."

Home pages of AAPA’s constituent organization chapters.

"Specialty organizations offer their members focused CME, professional growth and networking opportunities, advocacy to support the profession and a chance to give back to the profession through volunteering."

These caucuses are composed of individuals who share a common goal or interest related to health care access or delivery.

Informal groups composed of individuals sharing a common goal or interest.

AAPA represents the PA profession in Washington, D.C. and works with state PA associations on laws and regulations affecting PA practice.

"The accrediting agency that protects the interests of the public and physician assistant profession by defining the standards for physician assistant education and evaluating physician assistant educational programs within the territorial United States to ensure their compliance with those standards."

Their mission is to "serve the public through exemplary programs that evaluate critical PA competencies and that require the pursuit of life-long learning and improvement."

"Serves as a resource for individuals and organizations from various professional sectors interested in the educational aspects of the PA profession. The Association is the organization primarily responsible for collecting, publishing, and disseminating information on the PA programs."

"Dedicated to the history and legacy of the physician assistant profession through the identification and collection of appropriate papers, manuscripts, magazine and newspaper clippings, newsletters, reports, dissertations, oral histories, and visual artifacts, such as films, slides, videos, photographs, and digital images."

Their "vision is to be the leading force for all physician assistants in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania by advocating for the physician assistant profession, for excellence in healthcare, and for access to quality care for our patients."

"As a member of the only society dedicated to emergency medicine physician assistants, you have access to diverse benefits designed for your professional and personal advancement."

Licenses Physician Assistants working with M.D.'s in the state.

Licenses Physician Assistants working with D.O.'s in the state.

"The Division of Statistical Registries collects data that can be analyzed to help solve our state’s public health problems. Registries include: Vital Events (birth, death, fetal death), Cancer and Immunization. Data comes from birth, death and fetal death records, all cases of treated or diagnosed cancer and immunization records."

Produced by the University of Washington School of Medicine, each topic begins with an overview and a series of commonly asked questions.

This journal provides articles in relation to the ethical aspects of biomedical research and clinical practice, including professional choices and conduct, medical technologies, healthcare systems and health policies.

Information About Health Information Privacy Under HIPAA.

Provides a forum for PAs to share clinical information and practice tips, along with professional, political and personal opinions. Their monthly features and columns are customized to fit the unique needs of PAs and cover the wide range of issues they encounter every day.

"ACP's goal is to provide clinicians with recommendations based on the best available evidence; to inform clinicians of when there is no evidence; and finally, to help clinicians deliver the best health care possible."

"Medscape from WebMD is organized by medical specialty, with each supported specialty having its own customized Web site. Specialty content is evaluated, created, and presented under the guidance of a WebMD program director and a medical professional advisory board."

Healthline’s mission is to improve health through information.

An award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are vital part of medical care. Laboratory professionals, who are experts in the field, develop and review all content, including articles on lab tests, conditions/diseases, screening, clinical laboratory topics, and lab test news. The site is produced by AACC, a global scientific and medical professional organization dedicated to clinical laboratory science and its application to healthcare.

For the consumer and professional alike, this site offers information on diseases, drugs, research and clinical trials.

MediLexicon contains medical searches, news and resources for medical, pharmaceutical and healthcare professionals. Search ICD-9 codes, medical equipment, surgical instruments along with drugs, abbreviations, dictionaries, etc.

The NLM Gateway provides single point access for many resources available at NLM.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

WebMD offers credible and in-depth medical news, features, reference material, and online community programs.

DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). From NLM.

National Library of Medicine's site on drug names and categories.

A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.

From the publishers of Physicians' Drug Reference

By WebMD, LLC.

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases

AoA's mission is "is to develop a comprehensive, coordinated and cost-effective system of home and community-based services that helps elderly individuals maintain their health and independence in their homes and communities."

Browse news and information, clinical information, funding opportunities and statistics. AHRQ's mission is "to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. Information from AHRQ's research helps people make more informed decisions and improve the quality of health care services"

"ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances."

It is the nation's lead federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. They work with public and private sectors to build a knowledge base for what does, and does not, work in health and health care and to translate this knowledge into everyday practice and policymaking.

CDC.gov is CDC's primary online communication channel. Annually, there are close to 500 million page views to the site, averaging 41 million page views per month. CDC.gov provides users with credible, reliable health information on a wide variety of public health issues.

The role of the CMS includes three key components: 1) representation, 2) protection and 3) monitoring. Through ongoing customer service, patient advocacy and professional relations, the agency is a problem solver for beneficiaries, providers and other CMS stakeholders.

"ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details."

"is the principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans. It is comprised of the Office of the Secretary and 11 operating divisions. The agencies perform a wide variety of tasks and services, including research, public health, food and drug safety, grants and other funding, health insurance, and many others."

"FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation."

Their mission is to promote the health of the world’s population by advancing the Secretary’s and the Department of Health and Human Services’ global strategies and partnerships, thus serving the health of the people of the United States.

The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated or medically vulnerable.

Find insurance options, compare quality of care, learn about the law and prevention. A federal government Website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.

"Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans."

The Racial and Ethnic Approaches to Community Health across the U.S. (REACH U.S.) Risk Factor Survey is conducted annually in minority communities by CDC.

A CDC agency that plans, directs, and coordinates a national program to maintain and improve the health of the American people by promoting a healthy environment and by preventing premature death and avoidable illness and disability caused by non-infectious, non-occupational environmental and related factors.

CDC's Access to statistics, surveys, and data sets.

The federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness.

"is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives."

was "founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition."

"During adolescence, the transitional period between childhood and adulthood, many crucial milestones must be met in order to ensure optimal physical health, emotional health, and identity formation." Check out programs and state regulations for health insurance on this site.

Features topics related to funding of research related to public health problems.

"NIAID conducts and supports basic and applied research to better understand, treat, and ultimately prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases. For more than 60 years, NIAID research has led to new therapies, vaccines, diagnostic tests, and other technologies that have improved the health of millions of people in the United States and around the world. "

Created by Congress in 1976, ODPHP plays a vital role in developing and coordinating a wide range of national disease prevention and health promotion activities.

Created to ensure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.

A collaboration of U. S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraires.

a national pesticide residue database program. Through cooperation with State agriculture departments and other Federal agencies, PDP manages the collection, analysis, data entry, and reporting of pesticide residues on agricultural commodities in the U.S. food supply, with an emphasis on those commodities highly consumed by infants and children.

National Cancer Institute's comprehensive cancer database.

"provides a starting point for finding reliable information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases."

"The American Medical Association helps doctors help patients by uniting physicians nationwide to work on the most important professional and public health issues."

"Serving as the professional family for more than 100,000 osteopathic physicians (DOs) and osteopathic medical students, the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) promotes public health and encourages scientific research."

"The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn."

interactive human anatomy tutorial, heavily dependent on Java applets. Contains over 100 images and also includes descriptive links. Excellent resource for classroom presentations.

From Michigan State University, "In this atlas you can view MRI sections through a living human brain as well as corresponding sections stained for cell bodies or for nerve fibers."

An online tutorial for human neuroanatomy

Interactive learning tool features over 300 high-resolution 3D CAD views of over 1500 objects in the body, covering all 13 major anatomical systems.

Learn some basic information and then take intro through advanced quizzes to test your knowledge.

Using digrams or models, point to parts of the body to learn the names.

Check out these tips to remember Human Anatomy!.

from the University of Washington

This is a multimedia interactive HTML document which will help students learn the muscle actions of the human body. Each muscle action is listed in the Table of Contents. You can read about each movement or you may go directly to a movement for a description. Videos can be played to show the action of the muscle. From the University of Michigan.

A digital image library of volumetric data representing complete, normal adult male and female anatomy.

From the U.S.D.A., "this report examines major trends in the amount of food available for consumption in the United States between 1970 and 2005 using data from the ERS Food Availability (Per Capita) Data System. The report also estimates whether Americans are meeting Federal dietary recommendations for each of the major food groups by comparing the data with dietary recommendations in the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans and the MyPyramid Food Guidance System."

The FDA's site on food, ingredients, packaging and labeling.

"a Web site maintained by the Department of Nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health."

"Nutrition.gov provides easy access to the best food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers."

Blaufuss Sound Builder - self study and bedside teaching app.

Videos, interviews and interactive sites.

Use your iphone or ipad to download these apps on Anatomy.

"The simulation-based training modules include lessons on heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds, carotid bruit, blood pressure assessment and EKGs. The quick reference guides are a timely information source at the point of care."

The Video Library is a collection of free, high quality videos of educational events that have taken place at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Author interviews and expert discussions on clinical practice, evidence, and campaigns.