The following list of subscription ebook databases are available to all current Mercyhurst University students, faculty, and staff. Off campus users may be asked to enter their Mercyhurst username and password before accessing the databases. Click here for more information on accessing resources off-campus or contact the Academic Library Computer Support Specialist for more information. Looking for more? Visit the Open Source eBooks Page.
For full access to EBSCO services on mobile devices please switch to full Site at the bottom of the mobile view page. You MUST have the most current edition of Adobe Digital Edition program to download books to your computer. To download and read ebooks on your mobile device CLICK HERE for instructions.
AccessMedicine is an innovative online resource that provides students with access to more than 98 digital medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, hundreds of photos and illustrations, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently by world-renowned physicians and expanded continuously. In order to make use of the mobile site, users need to register for a My AccessMedicine profile from any on-site computer. Once they have done so, they will be able to log on to the mobile site using their My AccessMedicine username and password.
Through Credo Reference you can access over 3-1/2million full-text entries, from 882 reference books and 60 publishers.
This growing collection of over 200,000 titles contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, from leading university presses and other academic publishers. Familiar functionality and features of EBSCOhost make for a user-friendly search experience. A simple download process makes obtaining titles easy from any computer, and titles are compatible with most portable devices.
FUNK & WAGNALLS NEW WORLD ENCYCLOPEDIA
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Infobase eBooks are Web-based versions of Infobase Publishing’s outstanding print reference books. As one of America’s leading providers of educational materials, Infobase offers authoritative, reliable resources supporting the curriculum across a wide range of subject areas.
R.K. MILLER MARKET RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes 12 biennial business reference handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Each handbook includes market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics. In addition to in-depth analyses, the handbooks include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.
The following list of databases are free and open sources resources available to all members of the Mercyhurst community and the public. Contact the Electronic Resources Librarian for more information.You MUST have the most current edition of Adobe Digital Edition program to download ebooks to your computer. To download and read ebooks on your mobile device please CLICK HERE for instructions.
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Primarily leisure reading, mostly science fiction and fantasy, but some non-fiction is included.
Free access to books on literature, reference, and verse.
Provides 1000+ free eBooks. You can download textbooks and business books in PDF format without registration. They are all written by highly respected professors from top universities in the world and cover topics such as economics, statistics, IT, engineering and natural science.
Along with the CIA's most popular resources: The World Factbook, Maps at CIA and the directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments, the CIA Information Management Services, identifies, collects and produces historically relevant collections of declassified documents.
COMPLETE WORKS OF WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE
Provided by M.I. T., the HTML versions of the plays provided here are placed in the public domain.
DOAB DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS BOOKS
The directory will be open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
DOCUMENTING THE AMERICAN SOUTH
Digital initiative from University of North Caroline that provides free access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Feedbooks is a massive collection of downloadable ebooks, both fiction and non-fiction, both public domain and copyrighted, both free and paid. As of this writing, over 1 million titles are available, but only a portion of them are free.
Award winning monographs, coordinated with the American Historical Association, afford emerging scholars new possibilities for online publications, weaving traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages.
Provides free audiobooks from the public domain. There are several options for listening.
On this site you will find the full and unabridged texts of classic works of English literature.
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books with 19th century imprints.
Although many of these books can be found elsewhere, this site has books in 36 languages.
The National Library of Medicine's collection of over 700 healthcare and life science books.
Maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Library with more than one million free books on the web.
OPENDOAR-THE DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS REPOSITORIES
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.
A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country.
OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers.
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Since 2008, the Saylor Foundation's free education initiative has focused on exploring the promise of the Internet to drive the cost of education to zero and expand access to quality open educational resources (OER). This collection is a work in progress.
Over 700 free electronic editions of academic books managed by the Publishing Group at the California Digital Library. Make sure you check BROWSE PUBLIC TITLES!
UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA OPEN TEXTBOOKS
In an effort to reduce costs for students, the College of Education and Human Development has created this catalog of open textbooks to be reviewed by faculty members. Browse the subject list for free digital versions of these textbooks.
UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH DIGITAL EDITIONS
The University of Pittsburgh Press and the University Library System (ULS) have formed a partnership to make books published by the Press available online.
VICTORIAN WOMEN WRITERS PROJECT
Provides access to transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century.
A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included.