Creative Commons Licenses
| License Type | Abbreviation | Description |
|---|---|---|
|
Attribution
|
CC-BY | This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation. This is the most accommodating of licenses offered. Recommended for maximum dissemination and use of licensed materials. |
|
Attribution ShareAlike
|
CC-BY-SA | This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work even for commercial purposes, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms. This license is aligned with the “copyleft” free and open source software licenses which ensure that derivative works can never be put under more restrictive licensing terms than the original. All new works based on yours will carry the same license, so any derivatives will also allow commercial use. This is the license used by Wikipedia, and is recommended for work that incorporates content from Wikipedia and similarly licensed projects. |
|
Attribution NonCommerical
|
CC-BY-NC | This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work for non-commercial purposes, and although their new works must also acknowledge you and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms. |
|
Attribution NoDerivatives
|
CC-BY-ND | This license allows for redistribution, commercial and non-commercial, as long as it is passed along unchanged and in whole, with credit to you. |
|
Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
|
CC-BY-NC-SA | This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work for non-commercial purposes, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms. |
|
Attribution NonCommercialNoDerivs
|
CC-BY-NC-ND | This license is the most restrictive of the six licenses,only allowing others to download your works and share them with others as long as they credit you, but they can’t change them in any way or use them commercially. |
Creative Commons Video
- TED EdFrom the people who brought you the famous "TED Talks" TEDEd has video lessons on a variety of interesting topics. Unless otherwise indicated on the website, the content is licensed via CC BY -- NC -- ND 4.0 International.
- INTERNET ARCHIVEThe Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.
- UCI OpenUCI Open comes from the University of California, Irvine, is a web-based repository of various UC Irvine courses and video lectures from UC Irvine faculty, seminar participants, and instructional staff. Its content is available for free under a CC licence.
Guide images
All the header images used on this guide are Creative Commons or Public Domain images!
From Lane Community College on Flickr, Public domain, adapted and edited by Karen Niemla
By Giulia Forsythe on Flickr, public domain, adapted and edited by Karen Niemla
By Giulia Forsythe on Flickr, public domain, adapted and edited by Karen Niemla
Open resources for images
- CompfightCompfight searches all kinds of images, but allows you to narrow your search to Creative Commons.
- FigshareFigshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner. The search options allow you to find images in various CC licences.
- FlickrFlickr has many Creative Commons images. When searching the site, look for the "Any license ▼ " menu and choose your desired Creative Commons type from there.
- Getty Search GatewayThe Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids. It includes CC images, but be sure to check the licence type of individual items.
- Google Advanced SearchWhen searching Google Images, the advances search option allows you to set the "usage rights" included in your search. This will help you narrow your search to content you may freely use in your presentations and publications.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online CatalogThe Library of Congress' online collections include some public domain images. Be sure to check the "Rights Advisory" portion of the item records for rights information.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsThe NYPL's database of original digitized materials, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. When searching, there is an option to limit results to the public domain.
- OpenClip ArtAll Clipart are Released into the Public Domain. Each artist at Openclipart releases all rights to the images they share at Openclipart.
- UnsplashUnsplash photos are made to be used freely. All photos can be downloaded and used for free. No permission is needed (though attribution is appreciated!).
- Wikimedia CommonsBest know for its relationship to Wikipedia, Wikimedia Commons is a collection of 62,625,915 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
