Why?
Why Use the Web?
- It's easy and many people already know how to use the Web and do so daily
- It's huge--the Web includes primary, secondary, and teritary sources
- It's often current and includes the newest, cutting edge information
- It's information is accessible and usually free to read and use
Why Be Careful?
- There is often no review process for information posted online--information may not be accurate
- Anyone can publish anything on the Web, so you may be viewing inaccurate information presented by a non-expert
- Not all information on the Web is free or safe to download/view
- Information on the Web is often not organized well--making searching time consuming and sometimes ineffective
- Most information on the Web is not permanent
For information on how to find quality, scholarly websites and how to choose good sources online, visit the Evaluating Resources page.
Literature Online
- Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
- The Online Books PageListing over 35,000 free books on the Web
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 30,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPhone, Kindle, Sony Reader or other portable device.
Ethics Websites
- Applied Ethics Resources on the WWWwas developed, funded, and maintained for nearly a decade as a project of the W. Maurice Young Centre for Applied Ethics. Administered by Chris MacDonald, PhD, Saint Mary's University, Halifax, NS, Canada
- Bioethics.net: Where the World Finds BioethicsLarge site devoted to all issues relating to bioethics. It is produced and supported by the Center for Bioethics at the University of Pennsylvania.
- Ethics Mattersthics Updates is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics. Site by University of San Diego
- Ethics UpdatesEthics Updates is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics. (Founded in 1994 & edited by Lawrence M. Hinman, University of San Diego."
- Kennedy Institute of Ethics"where bioethics research begins..."
- Practical Ethics: Ethical perspectives on the news.Practical Ethics provides a daily ethical analysis of the latest developments in science, technology and other current affairs. Authors are drawn from 3 research centres at the University of Oxford, all working on some angle of applied and practical ethics. Follow the links to the sites for more indepth research material with links to articles, audio, video and other media relating to practical ethics.
Using Web Resources
When using Web resourcse you MUST
make sure that you evaluate each source for accuracy, currency,
authority, objectivity, and coverage. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for more information.
You don't want to wade through millions of Web pages. By using a few tricks, you can focus your searches relatively easily to those authoritative, reliable sources you want to use.
Use key search terms - Use the same search terms you used successfully to find books and articles.
Use search tools you can trust - These three subject directories were built by librarians and are filled with Web resources that have been evaluated for credibility and organized so you can use them easily.
Know your search tool - Use advanced search features to control your search. For example you can limit your search in Google to just search government or educational Web sites by limiting to a specific domain.
Why can't you just Google? Check out this video to find out:
Organizations/Associations
- American Catholic Philosophical AssociationDescribes conferences, journals, and membership benefits of a society that cultivates the Catholic philosophical heritage.
- American Philosophical AssociationThe American Philosophical Association is the main professional organization for philosophers in the United States. Founded in 1900, its mission is to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.
- American Society for AestheticsHere you’ll find articles and book reviews as well information about aesthetics events worldwide, and links to other aesthetics-related resources on the internet.
- Association for Informal Logic & Critical Thinkingis a non-profit scholarly association which aims to promote research into, teaching of, and testing of informal logic and critical thinking.
- Philosophy of Science AssociationThe Philosophy of Science Association promotes research, teaching, and free discussion of issues in the philosophy of science from diverse standpoints. To this end, the PSA engages in activities such as: the publishing of periodicals, essays and monographs; sponsoring conventions and meetings; and awarding prizes for distinguished work in the field.
- Society for the Advancement of American PhilosophyThis site includes information about SAAP's history, current activities, and requirements for membership. Explore their site to see what SAAP has to offer.
Online Tutorials
- Cirtical Thinking WebThis educational web site provides over 100 free online tutorials on critical thinking, logic, scientific reasoning, creativity, and other aspects of thinking skills. These online tutorials have been used by universities, community colleges, and high schools across the world.
- Internet for PhilosophyInternet for Philosophy is a free online tutorial to help university students develop their Internet research skills.
Philosophy Websites
- B. Janz's "Continental Philosophy"This page is intended to provide resources and links for researchers and students in the various areas of continental philosophy. The list started with links culled from Peter Suber's excellent (and lamented) "Guide to Philosophy on the Internet", but has gone beyond that. Created by Bruce B. Janz, Chair, Department of Philosophy, Director, UCF Center for Humanities & Digital Research, University of Central Florida.
- Continental PhilosophyA bulletin board for Continental Philosophy, History of Philosophy and more......
- Eighteenth- Century Resources - PhilosophyThis page, edited by Jack Lynch of Rutgers – Newark, is part of the larger collection of Eighteenth-Century Resources on the Net.
- EpistemeLinks: Philosophy Resources on the Internet.includes over 19,000 categorized links to philosophy resources on the Internet. Begin browsing the site by using the Philosophers or Topics links, or by using the link category or special feature links. See also the Custom Search Engines for philosophy.
- Erratic Impact's Philosophy Research BaseErratic Impact's Philosophy Research Base is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields.
- Field Guide to the Philosophy of the MIndPhilosophy of mind and the philosophical issues arising in the allied domain of cognitive sciences constitute a fast developing territory, which is very well introduced by a number of excellent web resources
- Intute: PhilosophyPhilosophy, brought to you by a national team of subject specialists from universities across the UK. They find and review the very best web resources to help you with your studies and research.
- Kant on the WebThe World Wide Web's most organized and comprehensive listing of resources on Kant.
- Markkula Center for Applied EthicsThe Markkula Center for Applied Ethics at Santa Clara University is one of the preeminent centers for research and dialogue on ethical issues in critical areas of American life. The center works with faculty, staff, students, community leaders, and the public to address ethical issues more effectively in teaching, research, and action.
- Paideia Project ON-LlineThe nearly 1000 papers published in The Paideia Archive were presented at the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy.
- Philosophical Lexiconis a humorous dictionary founded by philosopher Daniel Dennett and now edited by Asbjorn Steglich-Petersen. It lists neologisms that have been humorously coined from the names of (mostly) contemporary philosophers.
- Philosophy around the WebGuide and a gateway to philosophy resources on the Internet, by Dr Peter J. King, University of Oxford.
- Tanner Lectures on Human ValuesThe Tanner Lectures are a collection of educational and scientific discussions relating to human values. Conducted by leaders in their fields, the lectures are presented at: Oxford, Cambridge, Harvard, Princeton, Yale, and University of Utah, among others.
- Utilitarian PhilosophersExtensive information on major utilitarian thinkers: David Hume, Jeremy Bentham, William Godwin, James Mill, John Stuart Mill, Henry Sidgwick, R.M. Hare, Peter Singer.
Ask Philosophers.org
"You ask. Philosophers answer."
AskPhilosophers aims to bridge this gap by putting the skills and knowledge of trained philosophers at the service of the general public.
If you have a question that you think is in some way philosophical or relates to philosophy, feel free to Ask a Question. If you are not sure whether your question is appropriate, send it in anyway.
