Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry/Biochemistry: Articles

Finding Articles

Databases are the first place to look for articles, especially if you want full text. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article. 

Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search
Google Scholar allows you to search scholarly articles and patents available online. When you're on the campus network, full text links from the Mercyhurst Libraries' collections will appear automatically. When your device isn't on the campus network, you'll need to add Mercyhurst in your Library Links in the Settings menu. Here's a diagram showing how to set Library Links in Google Scholar.

Interlibrary Loan

Find an article we don't have at Mercyhurst? You can request articles and other materials through document delivery services provided by Mercyhurst libraries.

Interlibrary Loan

Our ILL service allows you to request articles, books, chapters from books, and conference proceedings to request from libraries all over the country. Choose the material you'd like to request, log in using your Name and Mercyhurst ID Number, then fill out the form as completely as possible and click 'Submit This Request'.


*Please check the holdings at  Mercyhurst libraries before requesting materials through these services!

Databases

Quick Search Everything for Chemistry

EBSCO Discovery Service


 
 

Limit Your Results

Disciplines

Or, Begin your search in these recommended databases:

Search Tips

Use these search strategies to help you find useful information quickly and effectively:

Boolean Searching

Truncation & "Wildcards"

Quotation Marks for Phrase Searching

Let one good book or article lead you to others. Scholarly publications almost always have bibliographies or lists of works cited.  Check these out!   If the original source is useful to you, works used by the author may be valuable, too. Even Wikipedia's footbotes can help you to find citations, even if Wikipedia articles themselves are not acceptable resources.


You can also see how a particular book or article is categorized and look for other works in that category.

Check out these searching tutorials for more information:

Chemistry Journals at MU

Try these Open Access Journals!