Mercyhurst University Libraries: Respiratory Therapist: Articles

Subject Terms/Keywords

The following are some suggested subject terms to use when searching:

Airway

Artificial Respiration

Asthma

Breathing

Breathing Apparatus

Breathing Disorders

Bronchitis

Cardiopulmonary Disease

Cardiopulmonary System

Cystic Fibrosis

Diagnosis

Disease

Emphysema

Evidence-Based

Heart Disease

Healthcare or Health Care

History Taking

Infectious Disease

Lung Cancer

Mechanical Ventilation

Pathology

Pathophysiology

Pneumonia

Pulmonary Diseases

Respiration

Respiratory Ailments

Respiratory Care

Respiratory Diseases

Respiratory Organs

Respiratory Physiology

Respiratory System

Respiratory Tract Disease.

Public Health

Try These Databases First!

Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.

Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.

CINAHL Complete
Fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. Full text for more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
Health Source Nursing
Indexes over 620 journals in several medical disciplines, including the full-text of 580 of those publications.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Subjects include Criminology, Criminal Justice, Demography, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Gender Studies, Marriage and Family, Religion, Sociology and Social Development, Substance Abuse as well as many others.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
PsycARTICLES
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present
MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine's database containing over 11 million references and abstracts in the field of Medicine.
Academic Search Ultimate
Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Credo Reference
Through Credo Reference you can access over 3,000,000 full-text entries, from 317 titles and 60 publishers.