Why?
Why Use the Web?
- It's easy and many people already know how to use the Web and do so daily
- It's huge--the Web includes primary, secondary, and teritary sources
- It's often current and includes the newest, cutting edge information
- It's information is accessible and usually free to read and use
Why Be Careful?
- There is often no review process for information posted online--information may not be accurate
- Anyone can publish anything on the Web, so you may be viewing inaccurate information presented by a non-expert
- Not all information on the Web is free or safe to download/view
- Information on the Web is often not organized well--making searching time consuming and sometimes ineffective
- Most information on the Web is not permanent
For information on how to find quality, scholarly websites and how to choose good sources online, visit the Evaluating Resources page.
Public Speaking
- Enhancing your Presentation SkillsDouglas Jefferys discusses how to control anxiety, why presentations fail, the power of a pause, and body language.
- Public Speaking with ConfidenceRosemarie Strawn a motivational speaker and trainer presents on speaking publicly with confidence.
- Public Speaking Tips" SeriesScott Ginsberg's video series on public speaking. Videos from memorizing the speech to making a great closing.
Online Presentation Tools
The following is a short list of popular online presentation tools. For a more complete list, visit our Presentation Tools page.
- PrezziThe zooming presentation tool - beyond the power point presentation.
- Google PresentationsCreate online presentations with Google Docs!
- SlideshareSlideShare is a business media site for sharing presentations, documents and pdfs.
Using Web Resources
When using Web resourcse you MUST
make sure that you evaluate each source for accuracy, currency,
authority, objectivity, and coverage. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for more information.
You don't want to wade through millions of Web pages. By using a few tricks, you can focus your searches relatively easily to those authoritative, reliable sources you want to use.
Use key search terms - Use the same search terms you used successfully to find books and articles.
Use search tools you can trust - These three subject directories were built by librarians and are filled with Web resources that have been evaluated for credibility and organized so you can use them easily.
Know your search tool - Use advanced search features to control your search. For example you can limit your search in Google to just search government or educational Web sites by limiting to a specific domain.
Why can't you just Google? Check out this video to find out:
Broadcasting
- AMC filmcritic.comThe latest movie reviews.......
- American Film InstituteAFI is a national institute providing leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television and digital media. As a non-profit educational and cultural organization open to the public, AFI relies on the generous financial support from moving arts enthusiasts to provide funding for its programs and initiatives.
- American Memory: Motion PicturesFrom the Library of Congress, online video from subject specific collections, including early Edison films, animation, and rare vaudeville performances.
- American Radio ArchivesLarge radio broadcasting collection, located at Thousand Oaks Public Library. Includes recordings, scripts, photographs and more.
- BBC NEWS - Historic News BroadcastsThis site contains recordings of some of the most important news events that have occurred since the BBC began broadcasting regular bulletins in 1922. Use the timeline to guide your way.
- Center for Visual Music"Center for Visual Music is a nonprofit film archive dedicated to visual music, experimental animation and avant-garde media."
- CHUD - Cinematic Happenings under Development"HUD.com is a privately owned website that features a great deal of rumor and speculation, and must therefore be read as entertainment. All original content, both graphical and textual, is the intellectual property of CHUD.COM"
- Internet Movie DatabaseDescribes itself as "The biggest, best, most award-winning movie site on the planet."
- Moving Image Source"Moving Image Source is a website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world; and a regularly updated guide to online research resources."
- National Public Radio ArchivesSearch the "Morning Edition" archives.
- Paley Center for Media"The Paley Center for Media, with locations in New York and Los Angeles, leads the discussion about the cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public."
- PublicDomainFlicks.comHere you can legally download full-length feature films that are in the public domain for free.
- Scene 360The online film and arts magazine.
- Sloan Science and FilmAward-winning short films supported by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, news about the Sloan Film Program's activities, original articles about science and film, and dialogues with filmmakers and scientists.
- SoundtrackNetA database of film and television scoring. In addition to up-to-date information on the availability of particular scores commercially there are often insightful reviews of scores and even particular recordings of them. There are also links to sites for the purchase of available scores.
- Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThe Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. They have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. Individuals may make
requests for video tape loans for reference, study and research. You must REGISTER to use this database. - VideographyAn online resource for the video production professional.
- Voice of the Shuttle - Film/VideoLinks to sites about specific directors, film theory, festivals, and more.
- Voice of the Shuttle - TVLinks to journals, magazines, websites, and reference resources related to television.
General Websites
- Ad*Access Digital CollectionsThe Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- Gallup PoleProduced by the Gallup Organization, this is one of the most authoritative polling systems in measuring and analyzing people's attitudes, opinions and behaviors. Gallup makes available roughly a year's worth of poll data. Many of the polls include partial comparisons to earlier years.
- Lexicool.comis primarily a directory of more than 7,000 bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries that are freely available online.
- MIT's Communication Forum"a site for cutting-edge discussion of the cultural, political, economic and technological impact of communications, with special emphasis on emerging technologies." Links to papers and articles generated by the MIT Communications Forum, Comparative Media Studies conferences and the Media in Transition project.
- U of Iowa's Communication Studies ResourcesThe University of Iowa's Communication Department has collected tons of links to great web sites, in categories from political advertising to visual representations of 9/11.
- VideographyAn online resource for the video production professional.
- Voice of the Shuttle - TVLinks to journals, magazines, websites, and reference resources related to television.
- WWW Virtual Library - Communications & MediaThe WWW Virtual Library (VL) is the oldest catalogue of the Web, started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of HTML and of the Web itself, in 1991 at CERN in Geneva. Unlike commercial catalogues, it is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert.
Organizations & Associations
- American Academy of Motion Picture Arts & SciencesA professional honorary organization of over 6,000 motion picture professionals, was founded to advance the arts and sciences of motion pictures.
- American Cinema Editorsseeks "to advance the art and science of the editing profession; to increase the entertainment value of motion pictures by attaining artistic pre-eminence and scientific achievement in the creative art of editing; to bring into close alliance those editors who desire to advance the prestige and dignity of the editing profession."
- American Communication Association"ACA is committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving communication technologies to facilitate instruction, research, and criticism; it offers a technologically-supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate. "
- American Society of Newspaper Editors"Focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism, defends and protects First Amendment rights, and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, youth journalism and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives."
- Association for Business Communication(ABC) is the primary academic organization for the field of business communication scholarship, research, education and practice.
- International Communication Association"ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication."
- National Communication Association"NCA is the largest national organization dedicated to communication. Researchers, educators, and professionals, work to understand and better all forms of human communication."
- National Speaker Association"NSA is the national professional organization for speakers, providing resources and education designed to advance the skills, integrity and value of its members and the speaking profession."
- Public Relations Society of America(PRSA) is the nation’s largest community of public relations and communications professionals. They provide training, set standards of excellence and uphold principles of ethics for the global public relations profession. As a leading voice in the industry, they also advocate for greater understanding and adoption of public relations services.
- Society for News Design"The Society for News Design (SND) is an international organization for news media professionals and visual communicators – specifically those who create print/web/mobile publications and products. Our members art direct, design, edit, report, illustrate, make photos and video, visualize data – and write code."
- Society of Professional Journalists"is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior."
Journalism
- Beginning Reporting"This site is divided into three main sections and 17 subsections. The main sections reflect the principal jobs of the journalist: reporting, writing and rewriting."
- F.A.I.R.- Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting"FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986. We work to invigorate the First Amendment by advocating for greater diversity in the press and by scrutinizing media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints."
- Journalism.org"Tools for consumers, students and producers of news from the Committee of Concerned Journalists."
- Journalist's ToolboxLinks to resources categorized by contemporary topics, and links to online professional tools, including sites on editing and fact-checking, reporting techniques, and writing with statistics.
- Newswriting for Radio"The Newswriting for Radio website is an online tutorial on the craft of radio journalism, with particular attention to the writing of news scripts. Since 1996, newscript.com has been providing creative suggestions and ideas to radio news reporters, writers and anchors, as well as to broadcast journalism students around the world."
- Online Journalism ReviewFocusing the the future of digital journalism.
- Pew Center for Civic JournalismTheir mission is to be "an incubator for civic journalism experiments that enable news organizations to create and refine better ways of reporting the news to re-engage people in public life."
- Poynter CenterThis Center helps journalists do their jobs better and to serve their communities. Updated daily, it provides journalists with reliable information. Offers training, news, a job board and tips.
- Project for Excellence in JournalismBy the Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism, this research organization is dedicated to trying to understand the information revolution. They specialize in using empirical methods to evaluate and study the performance of the press, particularly content analysis.
Public Relations
- Bulldog Reporter's Daily ' DogThe Daily 'Dog offers timely, insightful PR news and feature content that drives traffic and builds an online community of PR practitioners, agencies and service providers.
- Council of Public Relations FirmsIncludes case studies, best practices and research to promote public relations.
- Institute for Public RelationsFind research on various aspects of PR, including measurement and evaluation, media relations and new technologies.
- Public Relations Society of America(PRSA) is the nation’s largest community of public relations and communications professionals. They provide training, set standards of excellence and uphold principles of ethics for the global public relations profession. As a leading voice in the industry, they also advocate for greater understanding and adoption of public relations services.
