Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Resources in the Homeland Security Digital Library cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and content specialists. For best use of this resource please watch the following video: https://youtu.be/XydjVo4-MVM. Some "restricted content" will not be available.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Making of America Journals
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books with 19th century imprints.
Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of the following Salem Press printed reference sets: GREAT LIVES FROM HISTORY and DECADES.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering a variety of subjects and languages.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Citations and abstracts from over 750 education journals and documents from the Education Resources Information Center dating back to 1967.
JSTOR provides an electronic archive of important scholarly journals. The Arts and Sciences II collection contains over 150 titles in disciplines such as archaeology, Asian studies, economics, history, political science, and sociology.
Modern Language Association International Bibliography
The Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography provides searchable access to more than two million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites. It indexes materials from 1926 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
Teacher Reference Center
An index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development,Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.
Academic Search Ultimate
Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Find a book we don't have at Mercyhurst? You can request books and other materials through two document delivery services provided by Hammermill Library.
Our ILL service allows you to request articles, books, chapters from books, and conference proceedings to request from libraries all over the country. Choose the material you'd like to request, log in using your Name and Mercyhurst ID Number, then fill out the form as completly as possible and click 'Submit This Request'.
*Please check the holdings at Hammermill Library before requesting materials through this service!