LC Call Numbers
C1 - 51: Auxiliary Sciences of History (General)
D1 - 2027: History (General)
E11 - 143: America
F1 - 975: United States local history
H1 - 99: Social sciences (General)
Encyclopedias relating to history can be found in the reference section on the Main Level under these call number ranges. Other subject related books can be found under these ranges on Level Two of Hammermill Library.
Issues and Controversies
Witchcraft in early North America by Call Number: BF1573 .G36 2010
Slavery and Public History by Call Number: E441 .S625 2006ISBN: 1565849604Publication Date: 2006-04-03
Religious Liberty in America by Call Number: KF4783 .M87 2008ISBN: 9781558496378Publication Date: 2008-01-01
SALEM HISTORY
Great lives from history. The ancient world, prehistory-476 C.E. by Call Number: REF CT113 .G74 2004Great Lives from History: The Ancient World is the first title in a multivolume series covering the lives of important personages from the ancient world through the twenty-first century.
Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of the following print reference sets, which can be found in the Hammermill Library reference collection:
Great lives from history. Notorious lives by Call Number: REF HV6245 .G687 2007
Great Lives from History by Call Number: REF CT120 .G695 2009ISBN: 9781587653568Publication Date: 2004-04-01
The fifties in America by Call Number: REF E169.12 .F498 2005
The sixties in America by Call Number: REF E169.12 .S56 1999
The seventies in America by Call Number: REF E169.12 .S87 2006
Online Reference Books
- Credo ReferenceUse Credo Reference to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries ONLINE!
- Funk & Wagnall's New World EncyclopediaThis database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
New Credo Reference Titles in HISTORY
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
American Indian History by Call Number: REF E77 .A496 2003ISBN: 1587650673Publication Date: 2002-08-01
American Women's History by Call Number: REF HQ1115 .W4 1994ISBN: 0671850091Publication Date: 1994-02-01
Encyclopedia of Local History by Call Number: REF E180 .K25 2000ISBN: 0742503992Publication Date: 2000-11-08
The Harvard Guide to African-American History by Call Number: REF E185 .H326 2001ISBN: 0674002768Publication Date: 2001-06-25
The Oxford Companion to United States History by Call Number: REF E174 .O94 2001ISBN: 0195082095Publication Date: 2001-07-04
Profiles of Pennsylvania by Call Number: REF F147 .P76 2006ISBN: 1592372104Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Public History
Public and Academic History by Call Number: D16.163 .L44 1989ISBN: 0894642995Publication Date: 1990-01-01
ebooks from EBSCO
Indigenous Women, Work, and History, 1940-1980 by Publication Date: 2013-02-01
History and Popular Memory by Publication Date: 2014-04-29
A Documentary History of the American Civil War Era by Publication Date: 2014-10-17
WorldCat
