Finding Articles
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Creating a Citation Page
- Citing SourcesA guide to creating in-text citations and assembling Works Cited pages using various citation formats. Developed by Duke University Libraries.
- Annotated BibliographiesA guide to understanding and writing annotated bibliographies from Purdue University.
Overview
There are quite a few different ways to cite resources in your paper. The citation style usually depends on the academic discipline involved. For example: Social Science Research requires the mastery of APA.
- APA style is often used by Social Work, Sociology, and Psychology
- http://www.apastyle.org/learn/tutorials/basics-tutorial.aspx
- http://www.apastyle.org/learn/faqs/index.aspx
- http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/
Check with your professor to make sure you use the required style. And whatever style you choose, BE CONSISTENT!
Citation Style Guides
- M.L.A. Style - (Modern Language Association)Use this guide from Purdue University to cite your books, aricles, and electronic resources.
- APA Style (American Psychological Association)Use this guide from Purdue University to cite books, articles and electronic resources.
- Chicago/Turabian StyleUse the University of Wisconsin-Madison's guide to cite your books, articles and electronic resources.
Copyright & Plagiarism
Here are some resources to help you better understand Copyright, Plagiarism, and the correct documentation of resources.
- Copyright InformationA description of Copyright Law provided by Hammermill Library
- Plagiarism: What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid ItA useful description of plagiarism provided by Writing Tutorial Services, at Indiana University
Citation Generator
Automatic citation generators are quick and easy ways to create a works cited page. Unfortunately, these tools aren't always correct.
If you choose to use an automatic citation generator, like the ones provided below, ensure the generated citations are correct by checking them against a style manual or guidelines provided by a professor.
- KnightCite Citation ServiceCalvin College's automatic citation generator for MLA, APA, and Chicago styles
- Automatically create bibliographies using Microsoft WordYou can automatically generate bibliographies, works cited pages, and citations using tools provided in Microsoft Word.
You Quote It, You Note It!
Want to learn the basics of avoiding plagiarism and learn why, when, and how to cite? Check out this tutorial!
