Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find a journal we don't have at Mercyhurst? You can request articles and other materials through our Interlibrary Loan service provided by the Mercyhurst Libraries.
Our ILL service allows you to request articles, books, chapters from books, and conference proceedings to request from libraries all over the country. Choose the material you'd like to request, log in using your Name and Mercyhurst ID Number, then fill out the form as completly as possible and click 'Submit This Request'.
*Please check the library holdings before requesting materials through this service!
Yoga --- e-books
This is a sampling of the YOGA titles available in our ebrary collection --- check it out!
How We Live Our Yoga by
Publication Date: 2001
How We Live Our Yoga collects fourteen frank, moving, and thoughtful personal essays by passionate yoga practitioners on why they began to practice, what it has brought to their lives, how their relationship to yoga changes and evolves, and more. Judith Lasater looks at the unexpected relationship between yoga and parenting. Award-winning poet Stanley Plumly ponders the connection between his Quaker upbringing, his writing, and his yoga practice. The well-known Sanskritist Vyaas Houston tells the story of his first guru and their difficult relationship. And philosopher and conceptual artist Adrian Piper comes out as a yogic celibate.
Positioning Yoga by
Publication Date: 2005
Last year, more than seven million Americans participated in yoga or tai chi classes.Yet despite its popularity the real nature of yoga remains shrouded in mystery. A diverse range of practitioners range from white-bearded Indian mystics to celebrities like Madonna and Gwyneth Paltrow. Positioning Yoga provides an overview of the development of yoga, from its introduction to Western audiences by the Indian Swami Vivekananda at the 1893 Parliament of the World's Religions in Chicago to forms of modern practice. What makes yoga practitioners affiliated with Swami Sivananda's Divine Life Society of Rishikesh, India unique--whether they hail from Indian, North America, or Europe? What values around the world have supported the surging popularity of yoga over the past century? This absorbing book considers how lifestyle values have made yoga a global industry and shows how this popular "lifestyle" is produced and disseminated across boundaries.
Integrated Yoga by
Publication Date: 2007
"Practicing yoga creates a sense of calm and focus and heightens awareness of the body's functions and movements. For children with sensory processing difficulties - because they either have low sensory thresholds and are overwhelmed by sensory stimulation, or because they have high thresholds and do not register stimulation - yoga can be hugely beneficial." "This book presents easy-to-follow basic postures and sequences for children and young people which can be easily adapted for adults. Nicole Cuomo gives practical advice for how to choose appropriate sequences according to the child's particular needs and mood, knowing that yoga will be most beneficial when it is fun. Photographs of each posture supplement the descriptions." "This practical book provides a wealth of ideas for therapists, educators and parents to help their children with sensory processing needs."--BOOK JACKET.
Yoga for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders by
Publication Date: 2006
Having successfully used yoga to combat the stress of their own busy lives, Dion and Stacey Betts discovered its potential for their son Joshua, who has Asperger Syndrome. This fully-illustrated book combines the authors' professional expertise with their experience of parenting, offering a range of gentle and fun yoga positions and breathing techniques that are effective in dealing with the increased levels of anxiety, disorientation and tactile sensitivity often found in children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs). The authors give step-by-step descriptions of warming-up, strengthening, calming, and tension-releasing exercises that are suitable for reducing coping mechanisms such as hand-flapping, and increasing muscle tone, muscle strength and body awareness. They also offer a range of short and long sequences that can be tailored to fit the needs of the individual child. Yoga for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders is ideal for parents and caregivers who want to use simple yoga techniques to help children with ASDs overcome some of the symptoms of the disorder.
Psychology of Kundalini Yoga by
Call Number: BL1238.56.K86 J86 1996
Publication Date: 1999
"Kundalini yoga presented Jung with a model of something that was almost completely lacking in Western psychology--an account of the development phases of higher consciousness.... Jung's insistence on the psychogenic and symbolic significance of such states is even more timely now than then. As R. D. Laing stated... 'It was Jung who broke the ground here, but few followed him.'"--From the introduction by Sonu Shamdasani Jung's seminar on Kundalini yoga, presented to the Psychological Club in Zurich in 1932, has been widely regarded as a milestone in the psychological understanding of Eastern thought and of the symbolic transformations of inner experience. Kundalini yoga presented Jung with a model for the developmental phases of higher consciousness, and he interpreted its symbols in terms of the process of individuation. With sensitivity toward a new generation's interest in alternative religions and psychological exploration, Sonu Shamdasani has brought together the lectures and discussions from this seminar. In this volume, he re-creates for today's reader the fascination with which many intellectuals of prewar Europe regarded Eastern spirituality as they discovered more and more of its resources, from yoga to tantric texts. Reconstructing this seminar through new documentation, Shamdasani explains, in his introduction, why Jung thought that the comprehension of Eastern thought was essential if Western psychology was to develop. He goes on to orient today's audience toward an appreciation of some of the questions that stirred the minds of Jung and his seminar group: What is the relation between Eastern schools of liberation and Western psychotherapy? What connection is there between esoteric religious traditions and spontaneous individual experience? What light do the symbols of Kundalini yoga shed on conditions diagnosed as psychotic? Not only were these questions important to analysts in the 1930s but, as Shamdasani stresses, they continue to have psychological relevance for readers on the threshold of the twenty-first century. This volume also offers newly translated material from Jung's German language seminars, a seminar by the indologist Wilhelm Hauer presented in conjunction with that of Jung, illustrations of the cakras, and Sir John Woodroffe's classic translation of the tantric text, the Sat-cakra Nirupana.
Exploring the Bhagavad Gita by
Call Number: BL1138.66 -- .T48 2009eb
Publication Date: 2010
The Bhagavad Gita is a unique literary creation but deciphering its meaning and philosophy is not easy or simple. This careful study of the Bhagavad Gita approaches the ancient text with a modern mind and offers a unifying structure which is of a universal relevance. Combining the philosophical-theoretical with the ethical-practical, Ithamar Theodor locates his study within comparative theology and identifies the various layers of meaning. The full text of the Bhagavad Gita is presented in new translation, divided into sections, and accompanied by depth commentary. This book makes the Bhagavad Gita accessible to a wide variety of readers, helping to make sense of this great spiritual classic which is one of the most important texts of religious Hinduism.
Yoga --- study and teaching
Creating the Peaceable Classroom by
Call Number: LB3013 .B63 2003
Through step-by-step instructions and the latest research on the brain, this resource provides strategies for optimizing the learning environment for both teachers and students. Learn how to enhance your own well-being and use techniques such as guided imagery, conscious breathing, music, and drawing to calm, focus, or energize your students.
Teaching with Joy by
Call Number: LC995 .T43 2007
This edited collection addresses the growing need for ideas and methods conducive to holistic educational practices and aims to encourage more personal growth in students too often distracted by the background noise of war, violence, racism, and environmental deterioration. The contributors are working teachers and professors who have integrated a degree of spirituality into a wide range of classes in both urban and rural settings across the US. This ground breaking collection will provide practical advice about how to implement an ethical and spiritual curriculum while avoiding religious dogmatism.
Instructing Hatha Yoga by
Call Number: RA781.7 .K36 2006
Yoga is one of the fastest-growing fitness activities worldwide, and qualified yoga instructors are in high demand. Instructing Hatha Yoga describes the qualities and knowledge yoga instructors need in order to be competent and effective teachers. It covers all aspects of successful instruction: -Detailed descriptions on how to teach 69 yoga asanas (postures), with more than 300 photos showing the postures.
Relax with Yoga by
Publication Date: 1960
Relax With Yoga by Arthur Liebers instructs you on all the basic Hatha Yoga postures, with additional recommendations on Yoga diet, Raja Yoga, painless childbirth, and relaxation and peace of mind.
Great Systems of Yoga by
Publication Date: 1954
Contents: The Ten Oriental Yogas; Patanjali's Raja Yoga; Shri Krishna's Gita Yoga; Shankaracharya's Gnyana Yoga; The Hatha and Laya Yogas; The Bhakti and Mantra Yogas.
Thirty Minor Upanishads by
Publication Date: 1914
This is a selection of translations from the 'minor' Upanishads. These are texts which have been incorporated into the list of 108 Upanishads, principally dealing with Yogic philosophy and practices. They describe some very esoteric concepts, and enumerate Hindu technical terminology in great detail.
Yoga Sutras of Patañjali by
Publication Date: 2008
A fresh translation of Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, with word-for-word meanings and precise commentary. New insight into the advanced practices of meditation, kriya yoga and raja yoga.
How to be a Yogi by
Publication Date: 1902
"Swami Abhedananda was born in Calcutta on October 2, 1866. His father, Rasiklal Chandra, was a senior teacher of English in the Oriental Seminary of Calcutta. His mother Nayantara Devi named him "Kaliprasad",meaning grace of the Divine Mother Kali. His keen interest in Sanskrit and philosophy took a lion's share of his studies in his boyhood. Even before he came of age, he felt an inner inspiration to learn Yoga. His longing for yoga practice drove him to Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsadev at Dakshineswar. Sri Ramakrishna recognised him as a great yogi in his previous birth and that this was his last birth. He readily agreed to teach him yoga practices and initiated him with mantram. The mystic touch of the Guru immediately led him to deep Samadhi. Right from this beginning and during the course of his spiritual sadhana Kaliprasad experienced many divine visions till he reached the state beyond name and form." (Quote from ramakrishnavedantamath.org)
Hatha Yoga Pradipika by
Publication Date: 2011
Possibly the oldest extant text about Hatha Yoga, The Hatha Yoga Pradipika was written about the 15th century CE, by Swami Swatmarama, a disciple of Swami Goraknath.
Karma - Yoga by
Publication Date: 1921
This a set of lectures by Swami Vivekananda on the subject of Karma Yoga, one of the several yogic paths to enlightenment. Karma Yoga is a mental discipline which allows one to carry out one's duties as a service to the entire world, as a path to enlightenment. By working in the real world, but giving up attachment to work, we can obtain spiritual liberation. Vivekananda discusses the concept of Karma in the Bhagavada-Gita, and singles out the Buddha as a primary example of this form of yoga.
Yoga Lessons for Developing Spiritual Consciousness by
Publication Date: 1911
Verily, in whom unwisdom is destroyed by the wisdom of the Self, in them, Wisdom, shining as the Sun, reveals the Supreme.—Bhagavad Gita. Yoga is a subject which has enthralled the attention of the world from time out of mind. No one has hitherto done justice to such a grand system though there have been, now and then, innumerable attempts. The present author, Swami Mukerji, a Yogi who comes out of a successive generation of Yogis, is a fit and proper instrument to handle the subject. He, in these lessons prepares the layman for an understanding of the Yoga and, through a series of wise and masterful sayings, impresses on the mind of the reader the necessity for rising above materialism, nay, solves the very problem "What am I?" Every line is pregnant with mature thoughts and rivets one’s attention, and makes him think, think, think. This is not a work for which an introduction, briefly setting forth the contents, could be written.
Science of Breath by
Publication Date: 1904
"Breath is life Life is absolutely dependent upon the act of breathing." Thus does Yogi Ramacharaka state, in positive, unambiguous language, the importance of breathing. Expostulating upon the vital importance of breath to physical and spiritual well-being, "The Science of Breath" is a comprehensive guide to the philosophy and practice of breathing techniques.
Body, Mind and Sport by
Call Number: RA781 .D625 1994
"Until recently the "Exercise High," the effortless "zone" of peak performance, was available only to athletes. Now, this experience is fully within anyone's reach regardless of level of fitness. Whether you plan to run a marathon or just walk around the block, the exercise high can be yours for the asking. In Body, Mind, and Sport John Douillard shows how breathing techniques, dietary, daily, and seasonal recommendations, and a work-out tailored to the needs of your individual mind-body type will strengthen the mind-body connection, make exercise fun, and transform your experience of fitness and competition forever. No more "no pain, no gain"! Now you can learn to exercise comfortably, performing physically as never before. Take the work out of your workouts and feel better doing it. It sounds like a fantasy, but it's not. As you will see inside, dozens of top athletes are using John Douillard's techniques to dramatic effect. Whether you're young or old, an athlete or just thinking about getting in shape, Body, Mind, and Sport will help you to integrate body and mind for the ultimate fitness experience."--BOOK JACKET.
Reference Titles Online
Use Credo Reference to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries ONLINE!
Light on Life by
Call Number: B132.Y6 I94 2005
The world's leading teacher of yoga shows how we can transform ourselves by bringing yogic principles into all aspects of daily living. "Anyone and everyone can make the yogic journey and reach the goal of illumination and freedom..." from the introduction to Light on Life B.K.S. Iyengar - hailed as "the Michelangelo of yoga" (BBC) and considered by many to be the most important living yoga master - has spent much of his life introducing the modern world to the ancient practice of yoga. Yoga's popularity is soaring, but its widespread acceptance as an exercise for physical fitness and the recognition of its health benefits have not been matched by an understanding of the emotional, intellectual, and spiritual development that the yogic tradition can also offer. In Light on Life,B.K.S. Iyengar brings readers this new and more complete understanding of the yogic journey. Here Iyengar explores the yogic goal to integrate the different parts of the self (body, emotions, mind, and soul), the role that the yoga postures and breathing techniques play in our search for wholeness, the external and internal obstacles that keep us from progressing along the path, and how yoga can transform our lives and help us to live in harmony with the world around us. For the first time, Iyengar uses stories from his own life, humor, and examples from modern culture to illustrate the profound gifts that yoga offers. Written with the depth of this sage's great wisdom,Light on Life is the culmination of a master's spiritual genius, a treasured companion to his seminal Light on Yoga.
Anatomy of Hatha Yoga by
Call Number: RA781.7 .C685 2001 c.2
Winner of the 2002 Benjamin Franklin Award in the category of Health, Wellness, and Nutrition, this authoritative book correlates the practice and discipline of yoga with modern anatomy and physiology. 230 photographs. 120+ diagrams & anatomical illustrations.
The Heart of Yoga by
Call Number: RA781.7 .D47 1999
The first yoga text to outline a step-by-step sequence for developing a complete practice according to viniyoga--yoga adapted to the needs of the individual. A contemporary classic by a world-renowned teacher. This new edition adds thirty-two poems by Krishnamacharya that capture the essence of his teachings. Sri Tirumalai Krishnamacharya, who lived to be over 100 years old, was one of the greatest yogis of the modern era. Elements of Krishnamacharya's teaching have become well known around the world through the work of B. K. S. Iyengar, Pattabhi Jois, and Indra Devi, who all studied with Krishnamacharya. Krishnamacharya's son T. K. V. Desikachar lived and studied with his father all his life and now teaches the full spectrum of Krishnamacharya's yoga. Desikachar has based his method on Krishnamacharya's fundamental concept of viniyoga, which maintains that practices must be continually adapted to the individual's changing needs to achieve the maximum therapeutic value. In The Heart of Yoga Desikachar offers a distillation of his father's system as well as his own practical approach, which he describes as "a program for the spine at every level--physical, mental, and spiritual." This is the first yoga text to outline a step-by-step sequence for developing a complete practice according to the age-old principles of yoga. Desikachar discusses all the elements of yoga--poses and counter-poses, conscious breathing, meditation, and philosophy--and shows how the yoga student may develop a practice tailored to his or her current state of health, age, occupation, and lifestyle. This is a revised edition of The Heart of Yoga.
Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition by
Call Number: RA781.7 .K356 2012
The best-selling anatomy guide for yoga is now updated, expanded, and better than ever With more asanas, vinyasas, full-color anatomical illustrations, and in-depth information, the second edition of "Yoga" "Anatomy" provides you with a deeper understanding of the structures and principles underlying each movement and of yoga itself. From breathing to inversions to standing poses, see how specific muscles respond to the movements of the joints; how alterations of a pose can enhance or reduce effectiveness; and how the spine, breathing, and body position are all fundamentally linked. Whether you are just beginning your journey or have been practicing yoga for years, "Yoga Anatomy" will be an invaluable resource--one that allows you to see each movement in an entirely new light. With "Yoga Anatomy, Second Edition," authors Leslie Kaminoff and Amy Matthews, both internationally recognized experts and teachers in anatomy, breathing, and bodywork, have created the ultimate reference for yoga practitioners, instructors, and enthusiasts alike.
The Sivananda Companion to Yoga by
Call Number: RA781.7 .L53 2000
THE ESSENTIAL COMPANION FOR BEGINNING AND EXPERIENCED YOGIS ALIKE. A highly regarded organization for yoga studies and practices, the Sivananda Yoga Center created the first edition of The Sivananda Companion to Yoga in 1983. Since its publication, it has sold more than 700,000 copies worldwide and has become a standard text for both yoga students and teachers.Now with fresh, colorful pages throughout,The Sivananda Companion to Yoga remains the classic guide to yoga. With easy-to-follow instructions, inspirational teaching, and detailed illustrations, this authoritative guide covers every aspect of the yoga lifestyle, including relaxation, exercise, dietary guidelines, breathing, and meditation. Whether you're using it in conjunction with a class or on your own,The Sivananda Companion to Yoga can help you* Develop a fit and beautiful body* Boost your energy and vitality at any stage of life* Reduce stress and experience greater peace of mind* Eat nutritiously and responsibly* Increase your powers of concentration and discipline. Yoga is a journey toward physical and spiritual wellness. With this beautiful, bestselling guide in hand, you will experience the health, energy, and vibrancy that yoga can bring into your life.
The Woman's Book of Yoga and Health by
Call Number: RA781.7 .S645 2002
The Woman's Book of Yoga and Health is the first comprehensive book about women's health issues and how to treat them with yoga. The authors offer a complete yoga program for general health as well as pose sequences that address specific health problems-all in the Iyengar tradition, which targets health needs more than other forms of yoga. For example, in the first part of the book, Patricia Walden has organized three chapters showing yoga poses with clear instructions that tell how to get into each pose and describe its benefits: chapter one is the Essential Sequence for all women, and includes modifications for people who cannot or should not do all the poses; chapter two is the Restorative Sequence for stress relief and relaxation; chapter three contains advanced poses that energize and tone. The second part is presented in four sections that broadly represent the stages of a woman's life: teen years and early twenties, later twenties and thirties, midlife, and wisdom years. Each section contains chapters offering specific information about a particular health issue from author Linda Sparrowe, as well as sequences of yoga poses from Patricia Walden that address the problem. For example, the back care chapter includes information about common back problems and their causes (scoliosis, arthritis, lordosis, sciatica, kyphosis, among others) with an emphasis on: emotional and psychological roots of some back problems; physiological information about the spine and back muscles; general information about how yoga addresses different areas of the back; and finally, Patricia Walden's sequences of poses that target different back problems with the goal of not only relieving back pain but of strengthening, and healing old injuries and mis-alignments. Sections of the book include: teens and early 20s, eating disorders, menstrual health, immune support, back care, pregnancy, headaches, midlife, depression, menopause, digestion, wisdom years, osteoporosis, post-menopause and the heart. The final section of the book includes listings of yoga centers, instructional videos, yoga equipment, and where to go for more information about yoga.
Gurus --- United States
Gurus in America by
Call Number: BL1168.U532 G87 2005 c.2
Gurus in America provides an excellent introduction to the guru phenomenon in the United States, with in-depth analyses of nine important Hindu gurus-Adi Da, Ammachi, Mayi Chidvilasananda, Gurani Anjali, Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, Osho, Ramana Maharshi, Sai Baba, and Swami Bhaktivedanta. All of them have attracted significant followings in the U.S. and all but one have lived here for considerable periods of time. The book's contributors discuss the characteristics of each guru's teachings, the history of each movement, and the particular construction of Hinduism each guru offers. Contributors also address the religious and cultural interaction, translation, and transplantation that occurs when gurus offer their teachings in America. This is a fascinating guide that will elucidate an important element in America's diverse and ever-changing spiritual landscape.