Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Use these search strategies to help you find useful information quickly and effectively:
Keyword and Subject Searching
Quotation Marks for Phrase Searching
Let one good book or article lead you to others. Scholarly publications almost always have bibliographies or lists of works cited. Check these out! If the original source is useful to you, works used by the author may be valuable, too.
You can also see how a particular book or article is categorized and look for other works in that category.
Check out these searching tutorials for more information:
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematiccs, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. The scholarly work is available from Cornell University, and partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 11.1 million records covering Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, Instrumentation and Geophysics.
inSPIRE - High-Energy Physics Literature Database
Inspire is provided free of charge for educational and informational use. INSPIRE represents a natural evolution of scholarly communication, built on successful community-based information systems, and provides a vision for information management in other fields of science.
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance
American Chemical Society (ACS)
Site stocked with Chemistry updates, news, research and career information.
DOAJ- Directory of Open-Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering a variety of subjects and languages.
Energy Citations Database
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) contains energy and energy?related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE citations from 1948 through the present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Use the link below to access a list of journal titles, in Physics, held by Mercyhurst University Libraries!