Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Use truncation (*) to find word variants. Adolescen* retrieves adolescent, adolescents, adolescence.
Use quotation marks (") around phrases to search for exact phrases. Example: "As you like it"
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
A digital library of scientific literature, primarilly computer and information science. Over 730,000 documents or citations, CiteSeer als offers statistics, such as the most cited and most accessed documents.
arXiv - Mathematics e-print archive - Cornell University
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematiccs, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. The scholarly work is available from Cornell University, and partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Business Source Complete
The world's definitive scholarly, full-text business database. The new Company View component provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Find Case Studies, Industry Profiles, SWOT Analyses, Country Reports and Market Research Reports.
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content , including over eight hundred leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. We now offer 6 archival collections, along with current subscriptions to individual titles accessed through the JSTOR Scholarship Program’s platform for seamless access to the full run of the title.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Find an article we don't have at Mercyhurst? You can request articles and other materials through document delivery services provided by Mercyhurst libraries.
Our ILL service allows you to request articles, books, chapters from books, and conference proceedings to request from libraries all over the country. Choose the material you'd
like to request, log in using your Name and Mercyhurst ID Number, then
fill out the form as completly as possible and click 'Submit This
*Please check the holdings at Mercyhurst libraries before requesting materials through these services!
Try these Open Access Journals!
the ACM publication dedicated to students, is striving hard to bring valuable information to ACM student members, whether about computing theory, practice, or academic and career advice.
News, videos, articles ad tutorials.
An excellent resource for all the latest Linus software.
Hindawi publishes over 200 open access journals. Check out the Computer Science and Math Journals. Click on the "Table of Contents" for links to the articles.
The C++ Source
Online journal for C++ programmers.