Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
In order to organize your research, create a list of search terms (genre, artist or composer, concept).
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed full text journals. Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR - MUSIC titles
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content , including over eight hundred leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Through Credo Reference you can search 3,366,954 full text entries in 648 reference books.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Teacher Reference Center
An index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development,Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.
Online Music Juournals
The Journal of Music (Ireland)
The world of music is full of ideas and debates, yet seldom are they given space to develop. The Journal of Music aims to provide that space. Leading musicians, composers and writers – across all genres – connect the ideas, thoughts and views on music. In April 2010, The Journal of Music won the Utne Independent Press Award for Arts Coverage, selected from over 1,300 magazines worldwide. The publication was founded by musician Toner Quinn in 2000 and published 58 print issues up to 2010. In March 2011, the magazine was launched as an online publication.
Journals in the Field of Music