Mercyhurst University Libraries: Music: Books, Scores and Sound Recordings

LC Call Numbers

MUSIC (M)
MUSIC LITERATURE AND/OR MUSIC THEORY (ML)
MUSIC THEORY AND PEDAGOGY (MT)

M - Scores/instrumental music/vocal music
2-2.3               Collections of musical sources
3-3.1               Collected works of individual composers
6-175              Solo instruments
177-990         Music for two or more solo instruments
180-298.5      Duets
300-386         Trios
400-486         Quartets
500-586         Quintets
600-686         Sextets
700-786         Septets
800-886         Octets
900-986         Nonets and larger combinations of chamber music
990                  Chamber music for instruments of the 18th century and earlier
1000-1075     Orchestra
1100-1160     String orchestra
1200-1269     Band
1366                Jazz ensembles
1376-1420     Instrumental music for children
1473                Electronic music
1497-1998     Secular vocal music
1500-1527     Dramatic music (including operas and musicals)
1611-1624     Songs for one voice
1627-1853     National music
1990-1998     Secular music for children
1999-2199     Sacred vocal music
2000-2007     Oratorios
2101-2114     Songs for one voice
2115-2146     Hymnals

ML - Music literature/theory
8-54              Librettos (texts for music)
100-109        Dictionaries and encyclopedias
115-158        Biblography
159-3795      History and criticism
385-429        Biography
430-455        Composition
460-1354      Instruments and instrumental music
1100-1165    Chamber music (sacred and secular)
1200-1270    Orchestral music
1300-1354    Band music
1400-3275    Vocal music
1500-1554    Choral music (sacred and secular)
1600-2862    Secular vocal music
2900-3197    Sacred vocal music
3400-3465    Dance music
3545-3776    National music
3800-3923    Philosophy and physics of music

MT - Music instruction and study including composition and orchestration
5-1459           Instrumental music
6-175             One instrument without accompaniment
40-67             Composition
68                   Improvisation
70-86             Orchestra and orchestration/conducting
90-145           Analytical guides
170-810         Instrumental techniques
177-986         Two or more solo instruments
820-949         Singing and voice culture
955-960         Production of operas/Music in theaters
1000-1356    Orchestral music
1495-2199    Vocal music
1497-1998    Secular vocal music
1500-1527    Dramatic music
1530-1610    Choral music/part songs
1611-1626    Songs for one voice
1627-1985    Songs (part and solo)
1627-1853    National music
1999-2199    Sacred vocal music
2000-2017    Oratorios, masses, services
2018-2101    Cantatas, anthems, part songs
2102-2114    Songs for one voice
2115-2146    Hymn, psalm and choral books
2147-2188    Liturgy and ritual
2198-2199    Temperance, revival, and gospel songs

Online Reference Books

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Media, Industry and Society
Reference guide to popular music from all corners of the globe. Includes extensive bibliographies, discographies, sheet music listings and filmographies.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Locations
Reference guide to popular music from all corners of the globe. Includes extensive bibliographies, discographies, sheet music listings and filmographies.
Harvard Dictionary of Music
Reverting to its original title, The Harvard Dictionary of Music continues under editor Randel as a revision of his 1986 The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, so named at that time to reflect its significantly expanded scope from previous editions. The focus remains "the tradition of Western art music," with greater attention to world and popular music. Dozens of contributing scholars are listed in the front matter and denoted by initials at the end of entries
The Faber Companion to 20th-Century Popular Music
The Faber Companion to 20th-Century Popular Music has established itself as the classic reference work in this area. From ABBA to ZZ Top, through Noel Coward, The Skatalites and The Stone Roses, this book covers the major players in the vast history of popular music in the twentieth century. With over 2,500 entries and covering bebop to western swing by way of psychedelic rock, Hardy maps out a cultural history of the century that is both entertaining and informative.
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
From Pietro Aaron to Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, Don Randel compiles 1,013 pages of thumbnail sketches describing the life and music of 5,500 individuals who figure significantly in the world of music.
The Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia : A Comprehensive Guide to the World of Opera
This book serves as a guide to the world of opera, prepared under the auspices of the Metropolitan Opera Guild , and a compendium of information specifically related to the Metropolitan Opera, its history, repertory, and performers.
The New Penguin Dictionary of Music
A succinct and comprehensive guide to the history, forms, and personalities of classical music. Readers will find biographies of thousands of composers from Albinoni to Zappa, with in-depth treatment of major figures, coverage of individual works, including plot summaries of operas and ballets, articles on the history of music and instruments, entries on musical forms, from medieval plainchant to contemporary minimalism, and clear definitions of technical terms and jargon.