Mercyhurst University Libraries: Physician Assistant Program: Articles

Finding Articles

Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.

Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.

HSTAT

Health Services/Techonology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)

Click HERE for a Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making.

Interlibrary Loan

Need journal we don't have at Mercyhurst? You can request articles and other materials through our Interlibrary Loan service provided by the Mercyhurst Libraries.

(photo: lisaclarke)

Interlibrary Loan
Our ILL service allows you to request articles, books, chapters from books, and conference proceedings to request from libraries all over the country. Choose the material you'd like to ask for, log in using your Name and Mercyhurst ID Number, then fill out the form as completely as you can and click 'Submit This Request'.

But do look in our catalog first-- we just might have what you wanted all along!

Databases

Begin your search in these recommended databases:

CINAHL Complete
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. Full text for more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
Provides information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information and videos and images to aid in patient care.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Indexes over 620 journals in several medical disciplines, including the full-text of 580 of those publications.
APA PsycARTICLES
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100 journals -- 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Pubmed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
T.R.I.P. Turning Research into Practice
Trip is a smart, fast tool for you to find high-quality clinical research evidence.
MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine's database containing over 11 million references and abstracts in the field of Medicine.
BioMed Central
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. BioMed Central views open access to research as essential in order to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings. A portfoliio of 220 journals, all research articles in BioMed Central's journals receive rapid and thorough peer review.
SportDiscus with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals, with full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 15,500 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Academic Search Ultimate
Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Homeland Security Digital Library
HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Look under "Featured Topics" for information on Opioids, Pandemics and Epidemics.