Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below you will find a listing of royalty-free sites that specialize in images, sounds, and video. Royalty-free basically means that you do not need to pay any fees to use something in your own work. However, royalty-free does not necessarily mean that you can use items without giving credit to their original creator! Some of the content below might be under a Creative Commons license. If you make use of someone else's content, be sure to honor the wishes of the creators.
Free Resources From BSU
Ball State's Copyright & Intellectual Property Office has compiled a nice list of free Internet resources.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed full text journals. Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Archival Research Catalog
National Archives Database of various governmental and historical images, videos, sound bites. Be sure to check each resource's copyright statement.
Creative Commons Search
Search for images, video, sounds, and more.
Be sure to select the Creative Commons option before searching! Use for photos or videos.
The only drawback is that you have to join this site first to access the images.
"FreeFoto.com is the largest collection of free photographs on the Internet (link back and attribution required)."
Google LIFE Photo Archive
Images with copyright restrictions will have a note on the actual image.
Library of Congress Collection
Produced by the Library of Congress and mostly free. Be sure to check the copyright statement before using.
Royalty free images brought to you by Flickr
The Morgue File
"Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!"
Royalty-free stock video
The Internet Archive
A collection of images, sound, software, and more. Not everything here is royalty-free but many items are.