Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
Click HERE for a web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making.
Try These Databases!
Nursing Reference Center Plus
Provides information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information and videos and images to aid in patient care.
Fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. Full text for more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource. Features calculators for the allied health sciences and a dosage interaction tool.
More than 95 medical textbooks with an extensive multimedia library of a unique collection of more than 250 examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, and animations.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Indexes over 620 journals in several medical disciplines, including the full-text of 580 of those publications.
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world. PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE and links to full text articles when possible.
SportDiscus with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals, with full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
Academic Search Ultimate
Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
T.R.I.P. Turning Research into Practice
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Subjects include Criminology, Criminal Justice, Demography, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Gender Studies, Marriage and Family, Religion, Sociology and Social Development, Substance Abuse as well as many others.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Homeland Security Digital Library
HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Look under "Featured Topics" for information on Opioids, Pandemics and Epidemics.
Access over 3,000,000 full-text reference entries, from 317 titles and 60 publishers. A great place to find clear definitions of terms.
High-quality, interdisciplinary content , including over eight hundred leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
News, Journals and Magazines
List of Nursing Journals Available