Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intelligence Studies: Articles

Finding Articles

Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.

Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.

For more information on finding articles, check out this page:

Finding Articles

Featured Journals

 
Available via:
 
Taylor and Francis Online  fulltext 2001-06-01 (v.1, i.1) to current

 

 

 
Available via:
 
Academic Search Ultimate: fulltext 09/15/1922 -
 
Business Source Elite: fulltext 01/01/1985 -
 
Lexis Nexis Academic (US ed.): fulltext 01/01/1982 - 11/01/2012
 
Mercyhurst Print Journals: 01/01/1922 - 12/31/2007
 
Military & Government Collection: fulltext 10/01/1964 -
 
 
Available via:
 
Mercyhurst Print Journals: 01/01/1993 - 12/31/2008
 
Taylor and Francis Current Content: fulltext 01/01/1997 (v.12 i.1) -
 
 
 
Available via:
 
Mercyhurst Print Journals: 01/01/1986 - 12/31/2008
 
Taylor and Francis Current Content: fulltext 03/01/1997 (v.10 i.1) -

National Security Databases

 Working in National Security Intelligence?

Begin your search in these recommended databases:

Competitive or Business Intelligence Databases

 Working in Competitive Intelligence?

Begin your search in these recommended databases:

Law Enforcement Databases

 Working in Law Enforcement Intelligence?

Begin your search in these recommended databases:

Intelligence Studies Journals at MU

Interlibrary Loan

Find a journal we don't have at Mercyhurst? You can request articles and other materials through our Interlibrary Loan service provided by the Mercyhurst Libraries.

Interlibrary Loan
Our ILL service allows you to request articles, books, chapters from books, and conference proceedings to request from libraries all over the country. Choose the material you'd like to request, log in using your Name and Mercyhurst ID Number, then fill out the form as completly as possible and click 'Submit This Request'.


*Please check the library holdings before requesting materials through this service!

Search Tips

Use these search strategies to help you find useful information quickly and effectively:

Boolean Searching

Keyword and Subject Searching

Truncation

Quotation Marks for Phrase Searching

Let one good book or article lead you to others. Scholarly publications almost always have bibliographies or lists of works cited.  Check these out!   If the original source is useful to you, works used by the author may be valuable, too.

You can also see how a particular book or article is categorized and look for other works in that category.

Check out these searching tutorials for more information: