Why?
Why Use the Web?
- It's easy and many people already know how to use the Web and do so daily
- It's huge--the Web includes primary, secondary, and teritary sources
- It's often current and includes the newest, cutting edge information
- It's information is accessible and usually free to read and use
Why Be Careful?
- There is often no review process for information posted online--information may not be accurate
- Anyone can publish anything on the Web, so you may be viewing inaccurate information presented by a non-expert
- Not all information on the Web is free or safe to download/view
- Information on the Web is often not organized well--making searching time consuming and sometimes ineffective
- Most information on the Web is not permanent
For information on how to find quality, scholarly websites and how to choose good sources online, visit the Evaluating Resources page.
Organizations/Associations
- Association of Former Intelligence OfficersThe Association of Former Intelligence Officers (AFIO) was incorporated in 1975 as a 501(c)3 non-profit, non-political, educational association for current and former intelligence professionals and supporters of the US intelligence community. The Association is based in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- Association of Law Enforcement Intelligence UnitThe Association of Law Enforcement Intelligence Units (LEIU) is an organization whose mission is “providing leadership and promoting professionalism in the criminal intelligence community in order to protect public safety and constitutional rights. LEIU was founded in 1956 and subsequently established criminal intelligence standards that are recognized by both law enforcement and civil libertarians as creating a proper balance between the needs of law enforcement and the constitutional privacy
- Federation of American ScientistsFounded in 1945 by many of the scientists who built the first atomic bombs, FAS is devoted to the belief that scientists, engineers, and other technically trained people have the ethical obligation to ensure that the technological fruits of their intellect and labor are applied to the benefit of humankind. The founding mission was to prevent nuclear war. While nuclear security remains a major objective of FAS today, the organization has expanded its critical work at the intersection of applied science and security to include the issues of
bio-security, building technologies, conventional arms sales monitoring, energy security, government secrecy, international science partnerships, learning technologies, and terrorism analysis. - International Association for Intelligence EducationIAFIE was formed in June 2004 as a result of a gathering of sixty plus intelligence studies trainers and educators at the Sixth Annual International Colloquium on Intelligence at Mercyhurst College in Erie, Pennsylvania. This group, from various intelligence disciplines including national security, law enforcement and competitive intelligence, recognized the need for a professional association that would span their diverse disciplines and provide a catalyst and resources for their development an
- International Association of Counterterrorism and Security ProfessionalsOur goals include creating a center of information and educational services for those concerned about the challenges now facing all free societies, and promoting professional ethics in the counterterrorism field.
- International Association of Crime AnalystsThe International Association of Crime Analysts was formed in 1990 to help crime analysts around the world improve their skills and make valuable contacts, to help law enforcement agencies make the best use of crime analysis, and to advocate for standards of performance and technique within the profession itself. We accomplish these goals through training, networking, and publications.
- International Association of Law Enforcement Intelligence AnalystsIALEIA is the largest professional organization in the world representing law enforcement analysts. It is based in the United States, and is a non-profit 501(c)3 corporation.
- National Military Intelligence AssociationThe National Military Intelligence Association (NMIA), established in 1974, is the nation’s sole joint military intelligence professional association. Our prime goal is to support the professional development of military intelligence practitioners and help improve the effectiveness of joint military intelligence operations in support of our armed forces and homeland security efforts.
- Naval Intelligence ProfessionalsFounded in 1985, NIP is a nonprofit organization incorporated to enhance awareness of the mission and vital functions of the Naval Intelligence community, as well as to foster camaraderie among Naval Intelligence Professionals.
- Society of Competitive Intelligence ProfessionalsThe Strategic and Competitive Intelligence Professionals (SCIP), formerly the Society of Competitive Intelligence Professionals, is a global nonprofit membership organization for everyone involved in creating and managing business knowledge. Our mission is to enhance the success of our members through leadership, education, advocacy, and networking.
- Society of Former Special Agents of the FBIThe mission of the Society is to promote the welfare of its members, preserve the friendships and loyalties achieved while Special Agents of the FBI and to support the FBI and law enforcement as positive forces in American society.
Featured Websites
Nuclear weapons and nuclear power have greatly influenced the world since 1945. This digital library provides a vetted, annotated bibliography of over 3,000 books, articles, films, CDs, and websites about a broad range of nuclear issues.
The U.S. Intelligence Community is a coalition of 17 agencies and organizations, including the ODNI, within the Executive Branch that work both independently and collaboratively to gather and analyze the intelligence necessary to conduct foreign relations and national security activities.
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2011 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 104,000 cases.
More Popular Web Sources
Government Agencies
- Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and ExplosivesATF is a unique law enforcement agency in the United States Department of Justice that protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products.
- Bureau of Customs and Border ProtectionCBP is one of the Department of Homeland Security’s largest and most complex components, with a priority mission of keeping terrorists and their weapons out of the U.S. It also has a responsibility for securing and facilitating trade and travel while enforcing hundreds of U.S. regulations, including immigration and drug laws.
- Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)The Central Intelligence Agency was created in 1947 with the signing of the National Security Act by President Harry S. Truman. The act also created a Director of Central Intelligence (DCI) to serve as head of the United States intelligence community; act as the principal adviser to the President for intelligence matters related to the national security; and serve as head of the Central Intelligence Agency.
- Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)Our mission is to help protect you, your communities, and your businesses from the most dangerous threats facing our nation—from international and domestic terrorists to spies on U.S. soil…from cyber villains to corrupt government officials…from mobsters to violent gangs…from child predators to serial killers.
- FEMA: Federal Emergency Management AgencyFEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.
- National Drug Intelligence CenterThe National Drug Intelligence Center (NDIC) was established to "coordinate and consolidate drug intelligence." Later dissolved in 2012, this website still contains information and materials.
- National Security AgencyThe National Security Agency/Central Security Service (NSA/CSS) is home to America's codemakers and codebreakers. The National Security Agency has provided timely information to U.S. decision makers and military leaders for more than half a century. The Central Security Service was established in 1972 to promote a full partnership between NSA and the cryptologic elements of the armed forces.
- TSA: Transportation Security AdministrationThe Transportation Security Administration protects the Nation’s transportation systems to ensure freedom of movement for people and commerce.
- United Nations Collection - Yale University GDICUN Depository Library Program:
Yale library has been a depository for United Nations publications since 1945. The UN depository collection includes:
* official records of the main organs of the United Nations
* sales publications
* periodicals
* United Nations Treaty Series
* United Nations Development Programme and United Nations Environment Programme publications
* other generally distributed documents and publications of the United Nations. - United States Secret ServiceThe United States Secret Service is a federal law enforcement agency with headquarters in Washington, D.C., and more than 150 offices throughout the United States and abroad. The Secret Service was established in 1865, solely to suppress the counterfeiting of U.S. currency. Today, the agency is mandated by Congress to carry out dual missions: protection of national and visiting foreign leaders, and criminal investigations.
Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
- American FactFinder - U.S. Census BureauYour source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
- Cartographic Boundary FilesWelcome to the U.S. Census Bureau's Cartographic Boundary Files Web Site. The boundary files available here are selected generalized extracts from the Census Bureau's TIGER geographic database and are designed for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or similar mapping system. These are not map images. They have been developed for various internal Census Bureau projects and have been made available here to the general public on an "as is" basis.
- Famine Early Warning Systems Network (FEWS NET)The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) Famine Early Warning Systems Network (FEWS NET) is an information system designed to identify problems in the food supply system that potentially lead to famine or other food-insecure conditions in sub-Saharan Africa, Afghanistan, Central America, and Haiti.
- GeoGratis - CanadaGeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) which provides geospatial data at no cost and without restrictions via your Web browser.
- Geoscience AustraliaGeoscience Australia is a world leader in providing first class geoscientific information and knowledge which enables government and community to make informed decisions about:
the exploitation of resources;
the management of the environment;
the safety of critical infrastructure; and
the resultant wellbeing of all Australians. - Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) InternationalIPUMS-International is a project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. Its goals are to:
Collect and preserve data and documentation
Harmonize data
Disseminate the data absolutely free! - National Historical Geographic Information System (GIS)The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.
