Featured Resource
Fuld & Company's Competitive Intelligence Resource Center is a collaborative workspace of competitive intelligence tools and resources designed to help you gather information from a variety of services and sources, in support of your competitive intelligence efforts.
Nielsen's lifestyle segmentation systems define every household in the U.S. by distinct lifestyle types, called "segments", to provide you with a comprehensive picture of who lives where and what they are like. Marketers use these insights to create more effective and efficient marketing strategies.
MyBestSegments ZIP Code Look-up lets you view your neighborhood’s household segments within any ZIP Code.
They Rule aims to provide a glimpse of some of the relationships of the US ruling class. It takes as its focus the boards of some of the most powerful U.S. companies, which share many of the same directors. Some individuals sit on 5, 6 or 7 of the top 1000 companies. It allows users to browse through these interlocking directories and run searches on the boards and companies. A user can save a map of connections complete with their annotations and email links to these maps to others. They Rule is a starting point for research about these powerful individuals and corporations.
Business Websites
- AllBusiness.comA commercial website claiming it is one of the world's largest online resources for small businesses, providing essential tools and resources to start, grow, and manage a small business.
- U.S. Small Business AdministrationHelps small businesses understand their legal requirements and locate government services from federal, state and local agencies.
- CEO ExpressAddresses the growing demands on professionals and their firms for tools to help them save time and work more productively.
- Decision Making WebsiteDr. Hossein Arsham's (from the Merrick School of Business, University of Baltimore) website on Strategic Decision Making.
- DTN/The Progressive Farmeris the leading agricultural information services provider to the North American corn, soybean, and cattle complex. Tracks market prices for livestock and grains.
- Financial Times LexiconBrowse thousands of words and phrases selected by Financial Times editors and suggest new terms for the glossary.
- Free Management Library"There are approximately 650 topics in the Library, spanning 5,000 links. Topics include the most important practices to start, develop, operate, evaluate and resolve problems in for-profit and nonprofit organizations. Each topic has additionally recommended books and related Library topics."
- How Swiss Bank Accounts WorkArticle on Swiss Bank Accounts.
- Inc.comPublished by Inc. magazine, this site contains broad coverage of business topics, including articles on topics such as human resources, and writing business plans, worksheets and forms, and newsletters.
- Knowledge @ WhartonThe Wharton Schools searchable database of 1,500 articles on current business trends and interviews with business leaders.
Business & Industry Statistics
- Annual Survey of Manufactures(ASM) provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee.
- BEA: Regional Economic Accounts"The regional economic accounts tell us about the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. The estimates of gross domestic product by state and state and local area personal income, and the accompanying detail, provide a consistent framework for analyzing and comparing individual state and local area economies."
- Business Dynamic Statistics"The new Business Dynamics Statistics (BDS) are a product of the Center for Economic Studies of the U.S. Census Bureau. The annual series describes establishment-level business dynamics along dimensions absent from similar databases including firm age and firm size. "
- City-Data.comRankings in hundreds of categories, such as income, crime, most gay couples, most cars, shortest commute, biggest houses, best educated residents, and many more.
- County Business PatternsCounty Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry.
- Current Industrial Reports"The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector."
- Dow Jones AveragesExplanations and latest readings of the Dow Jones Industrial Average, DJ Transportation Average, DJ Utility Average, and the DJ 20 Bond Average, as well as recent dividends and stock splits of companies in the averages
- E-statsA site devoted exclusively to "Measuring the Electronic Economy." This site features recent and upcoming releases, information on methodology, and background papers.
- FRASERThe Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents.
- Income, Expenditures, Poverty, & WealthFrom the 2010 Statistical Abstract, this section presents data on gross domestic product (GDP), gross national product (GNP), national and personal income, saving and investment, money income, poverty, and national and personal wealth.
- International Money Fund - Country Info"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
- International Statistics: EconomyFrom the Statistical Abstract of the United States - Gross Income and Production by country.
- PricesAlso from the 2010 Statistical Abstract, this section presents indexes of producer and consumer prices, actual prices for selected commodities, and energy prices.
- U. S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsLinks to statistics and information from more than 70 agencies in the U.S. Federal Government.
- U. S. CensusServes as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Patents and Trademarks
- Lexis Nexis PatentsUnder the U.S. Legal in the left hand column, you will find a patent search in our Lexis Nexis database.
- United States Patent and Trademark OfficeThe Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
- World Intellectual Property OrganizationThe World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.
Company & Industry Research
- Annual Survey of Manufactures(ASM) provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee.
- BusinessWeek Public/Private Company SearchLookup company info, finances, etc
- Current Industrial ReportsProvided by the Manufacturing and Construction Division of the US Census Bureau, provides high quality industrial sector information and data.
- Funding UniverseSearch thousands of company's histories.
- GuidestarSearch for non-profit companies...
- Industries at a GlanceOver a hundred industry pages compiled by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Up-to-date statistics.
- Industry SnapshotsU.S. Census Bureau statistics.
- NAICS Codes SearchOne of the most efficient ways to research an industry is search by The North American Industry Classification System for that industry. You can find the industry code on this list.
- Public Register - Annual ReportsProvides PDF versions of company annual reports. Can be searched by company name or ticker symbol. Must register.
- SIC Code SearchThis page allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC, and to examine the manual structure.
- SmartBriefSmartBrief provides highly valued, trusted news and communication services for industries, associations, professional societies and corporations. SmartBrief is an excellent way of keeping abreast to changes in companies and breaking news. Fast and open to everyone.
- They RuleLookup board members from different companies, research people, see connections between board members/companies.
- Thomas Register of American ManufacturersLists more than 168,000 U.S. manufacturing firms and includes information about the products they make.
- Yahoo! FinanceSearch this website with free company profiles.
International Business
- Business & Human Rights Resource Centre"The website covers over 4000 companies, over 180 countries. It receives over 1.5 million hits per month. Topics include discrimination, environment, poverty & development, labour, access to medicines, health & safety, security, trade."
- Economist's Country BriefingNews, country profiles, forecasts, statistics and more
- Export.govExport.gov is managed by the International Trade Administration. The U.S. Government has also strategically partnered with major corporations to help small and medium-sized U.S. companies begin and/or expand their export sales.
- Global Edge"A rich collection of thousands of international business resources selected based on content and usability. This section also includes our proprietary Market Potential Indicators and the Database of International Business Statistics."
- ICC - International Chamber of CommerceIntervention in current policy arenas are documented here at the Web site of the International Chamber of Commerce. This provide a good starting point for investigating international issues.
- International Labor Organization (ILO)ILO is a UN specialized agency promoting social justice and labor rights. This website provides topics, publications and statistics.
- International Money FundThe International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
- Political Risk Insurance CenterThe political risk insurance industry helps multinational enterprises and lenders mitigate risk through insurance against adverse government actions or war, civil strife, and terrorism.
- World Bank"The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Our mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors."
- World Economic OutlookA pdf of" The World Economic Outlook (WEO)" which presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. It focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects.
Business Ethics
- Business Ethics: Knowledge @ WhartonOnline business journal of the Wharton School.
- Center for the Study of Ethics in the ProfessionsThe Illinois Institute of Technology's resource. In June 1996, the Center received a grant from the National Science Foundation to put our extensive collection of codes of ethics on the web. They included those codes of ethics of professional societies, corporations, government, and academic institutions, of the over 850 codes we have in our paper archive, who gave us permission to include their code.
- Ethics Resource CenterERC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization, dedicated to independent research that advances high ethical standards and practices in public and private institutions.
- The Center for Ethics in Science and TechnologyEthics Updates is designed primarily by the University of San Diego to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.
- International Business Ethics Institute"The Institute promotes business ethics and corporate responsibility. It works to increase public awareness and dialogue about international business ethics issues through such educational resources and activities as the Roundtable Discussion Series, the International Business Ethics Review and this website."
Marketing
- AdViewsAdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
- All About MarketingA free completely integrated online library by Carter McNamara, MBA, PhD, Authenticity Consulting, LLC.
Adapted from Field Guide to Nonprofit Program Design, Marketing and Evaluation. - Brand ChannelLatest news, columns, research, videos on "branding".
- Brandeo"An online marketing resource that cuts through the clutter to update you on the need-to-know marketing ideas and insights that help build brands and increase sales."
- Concept Marketing Group Library"The marketingsource.com article library contains thousands of articles on topics of interest to business owners, marketing professionals, and much more. New articles are added daily."
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920"Over 2,800 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States." Provided by Duke University.
- Fuld & Company LibraryThe competitive intelligence company's library search engine.
- Gateway to Associations"The ASAE Gateway to Associations Directory is easy to use and is updated daily to help you make networking more convenient. This directory service takes you directly to many of the associations currently operating on the World Wide Web. The search results provide a list of associations that meet your selection criteria."
- Green BookThe Guide to finding Marketing Research Services.
- Know This Marketing TutorialsOnline tutorials for marketing research, customers, product management, distribution, promotion, pricing and more.
- KnowThis.com: For Marketing, Market Research, Advertising, Sales, and more.KnowThis.com is committed to providing quality information and valuable tools for business professionals, academics and students of marketing and related fields.
- Marketing ChartsA daily online newsletter. MarketingCharts is a Watershed Publishing publication. It is published daily in the US.
- Marketing Research ReviewQuirk's Marketing Research Review is the leading magazine in the Market Research Industry. Free registration required for access.
- MplansInformation about marketing plans
- Purchasing Power"The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Employment and Training Institute provides comparison data on purchasing power, business activity, and workforce density for all census tracts, residential ZIP codes, and the 100 largest metro areas in the U.S."
- Internet Marketing AssociationProvides up-to-date news regarding new industry developments.
More Resources
Looking for more resources?
Check out the Business LibGuide
