SEPTEMBER 2018

---

 

DID YOU KNOW?

…that the library launched its new homepage/website in early August. Thanks to Matt Shellenbarger, Library Computer Support Specialist, the library was able to launch on schedule. This website has a new look, which is more in line with the Mercyhurst University site and there is quicker access to the “search everything” and Catalog search boxes. Take a quick look at the home page at library.mercyhurst.edu and don't forget to check out the new introduction video below:

—Darci R. Jones

 

 

NOTABLE NEWS

It has been quite a summer here in the Hammermill Library with some big changes, some minor changes and some future changes. Of significance, the Lower Level of the Library is now referred to as the MCPc Cyber Education Center at Mercyhurst University. You will also find the vending machines for beverages and snacks located in the hallway directly across from Classroom L100 on the Lower Level. The book drop that was located right outside the main entrance of the library is being removed. With the library open 114 hours per week, all materials can be delivered directly to the Circulation Desk during open hours of operation. You can also renew your books online by using your Mercyhurst login from our library catalog.

—Darci Jones

 

 

 

 

 

NEW SUBCRIPTION DATABASE: NEWSBANK

America’s News including Access World News – from NewsBank lets you read current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text news sources. It has local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 4,700 sources. That even includes area publications like the Erie Times-News. Its interface allows you to browse the newspapers by titles and topic as well as search.

 

—Karen Niemla

 

WORK STUDY OF THE MONTH: MICK WEIMER

The semester's first Work Study of the Month is Mick Weimer, a senior student majoring in Intelligence Studies and Information Technology. He came to Mercyhurst from Orchard Park, New York, which is about an hour and forty minutes away from campus. He is very active on campus, being the Treasurer of the National Security Club, and he also plays on the D2 ACHA Hockey Team and participates in the Ultimate Frisbee Team. The peaceful, quiet nature of libraries is Mick’s favorite aspect of working at Hammermill, along with its good working atmosphere and “nice and helpful” staff. After graduating, Mick plans to work for a cyber-background security company, whether in the intelligence community or for a private company. We wish Mick the best of luck!

— Angela Okey & Karen Niemla

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MERCYHURST NORTH EAST RIDGE LIBRARY NEWS

Welcome new students! Returning students might find some changes in location of books…we spent our summer rearranging! Please ask for help! Check out 150 added titles to our DVD collection.

—Sarah Stefanovski

 

UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES NEWS

The university archivist has been hard at work digitizing all of the Merciad newspapers. The Merciad from 1929-1980 can be accessed now by going to archives.mercyhurst.edu and clicking the digital objects tab. In the coming months, 1981-present will also become available. In other news, the archives are hosting professional internships for students, work on capstone projects, and work-study employment opportunities. Both the University Archives and the Ridge Collection are available for research and scholarship. For assistance with research, contact S. Bryan Colvin, University and Ridge Archivist, at scolvin@mercyhurst.edu.

—S. Bryan Colvin

 

 

 

 

 

STACKS CRACKS

—Karen Niemla