Middle Childhood Books
Our Education collection and the Curriculum Library is on Level Three of Hammermill Library.
To find books check out our catalog or browse these call number ranges to find books on your subject.
LB1025-1050.75 Teaching (Principles and practice)
LB1049.9-1050.75 Reading (General)
LB1050.9-1091 Educational psychology
LB1101-1139 Child study
LB1501-1547 Primary education
LB1555-1602 Elementary or public school education
LB3602-3640 School life. Student manners and customs
LC149-161 Literacy. Illiteracy
Here are a few titles:
Successful Inclusion Strategies for Secondary and Middle School Teachers by Call Number: LC4031 .G64 2004ISBN: 0761939725Publication Date: 2003-10-14
Critical Middle School Reader by Call Number: LC196 .C753 2005ISBN: 0415950694Publication Date: 2005-06-06
The Middle School Years by Call Number: LB1623 .H466 2000ISBN: 0446675628Publication Date: 2000-07-01
Find Articles!
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
- SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterThis resource contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
- Sage Premier CollectionAccess to the content of over 600 peer-reviewed journals from 1999 to date, published by SAGE with coverage in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
- PsycARTICLESFull-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
- Academic Search UltimateAcademic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed full text journals. Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
ebooks from EBSCO
Immigrant Stories by Publication Date: 2009-04-03
Children's Special Places by Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Development During Middle Childhood by Publication Date: 1984-01-01
Coming into Their Own by Publication Date: 2003-08-01
Growing Up by Publication Date: 1996-07-01
Websites
- AAA MathMath Lessons sorted by grade level.
- Awesome ClipArt for Educators"Provides valuable ed tech resources to incorporate into
K-12 curriculum. Educational topics, preformatted templates, technology tutorials, and practical tips are featured." - Ben's Guide to U. S. Government for Kids."This site provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers. These resources will teach how our government works, the use of the primary source materials of GPO Access, and how one can use GPO Access to carry out their civic responsibilities."
- Core Knowledge"By outlining the precise content that every child should learn in language arts and literature, history and geography, mathematics, science, music, and the visual arts, the Core Knowledge curriculum represents a first-of-its kind effort to identify the foundational knowledge every child needs to reach these goals–and to teach it, grade-by-grade, year-by-year, in a coherent, age-appropriate sequence." Curriculum guides for preschool through 8.
- Enigeo"Enigeo is a great way to learn countries, capitals and flags around the world in a fun way. You can either answer questions about the countries in a highly customizable quiz or you can just explore the world and learn about different countries." You will have to downloand the software.
- Fun School - KabooseA commercial website aimed at learning activities for kids.
- Internet Public Library, K-12 EducationProvides links to some of the best K-12 websites on the Internet.
- Middle School Teachers PlaceFrom Math Forum @ Drexel.
- Multiple Intelligence Theory"A wiki is about Howard Gardner's Theory of Multiple Intelligences and it is geared for children's librarians who may not be familiar with the theory but would like to make their existing programs friendlier to kids who have different learning styles. It's a place for general information about multiple intelligences and about successful public library programs that incorporate MI theory."
- PBS Teachers: Resources for the classroom."national web destination for high-quality preK-12 educational resources. Here you'll find classroom materials suitable for a wide range of subjects and grade levels. We provide thousands of lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations. These resources are correlated to state and national educational standards and are tied to PBS' award-winning on-air and online programming like NOVA, Nature, Cyberchase, Between the Lions and more."
- Puzzlemaker"a puzzle generation tool for teachers, students and parents. Create and print customized word search, criss-cross, math puzzles, and more—using your own word lists."
- SLIME KidsSlimeKids features an extensive collection of book trailers organized by year and by grade level as well as numerous language arts-related games in such categories as spelling, typing, vocabulary and grammar. Additionally, the website showcases an array of exceptional literacy-related resources such as author and book review websites as well as superb learning tools including reference works and search engines.
- The ClassroomA one-stop education reference site....has a little bit of everything for all levels.
Children's Literature
- Baldwin Library of Children's Literature: Digital Collection"The product of Ruth Baldwin's 40-year collection development efforts, this vast assemblage of literature printed primarily for children offers an equally vast territory of topics for the researcher to explore: education and upbringing, family and gender roles, civic values, racial, religious, and moral attitudes, literary style and format, and the arts of illustration and book design."
- Children's Book Council"The Children’s Book Council works annually on reading lists to help teachers, librarians, parents, and booksellers discover new, wonderful books for the children in their lives. They encourage you to make copies of these materials for your classroom or personal use."
- Children's Literature WebguideFrom the University of Calgary, an "attempt to gather together and categorize the growing number of Internet resources related to books for Children and Young Adults."
- de Grummond Children's Literature Collection"One of North America's leading research centers in the field of children's literature...the Collection holds the original manuscripts and illustrations of more than 1200 authors and illustrators, as well as 120,000+ published books dating from 1530 to the present.
- International Digital Children's Library"The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. Ultimately, the Foundation aspires to have every culture and language represented so that every child can know and appreciate the riches of children's literature from the world community."
- International Reading Association: Children's Choices Booklists."A reading list with a twist! Children themselves evaluate the books and write reviews of their favorites. Since 1974, Children’s Choices have been a trusted source of book recommendations used by teachers, librarians, parents—and children themselves."
- Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators:Excellent directory from Discovery (Channel) Education.
- National Storytelling Network"Because storytelling expresses, teaches, and preserves values and beliefs, it is of primary importance"
Young Adult Literature
- Best Books for Young AdultsThe books, recommended for ages 12-18, meet the criteria of both good quality literature and appealing reading for teens including verse novels, graphic novels, fantasy, realistic fiction, comedy, historical fiction and nonfiction.
- Banned or Challenged BooksAmerican Library Association's site for banned and challenged books.
- Disscusion GuidesCreated in part with funds granted by the Oregon State Library, these guides contain a summary and discussion questions.
- Folklore and Mythology Electronic TextsA collection of the University of Pittsburgh's.
- Multicultural Young Adult Literature"Selected list of books written by authors of varied cultures and dealing with issues of multiculturalism."
- Teens' Top Ten"Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list, where teens nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year! Nominators are members of teen book groups in fifteen school and public libraries around the country. "
- Web English Teacher: YA Literature"Biographical and critical information and lesson plans, listed by author."
Graphic Novels
- ALA's Great Graphic Novels for TeensGreat Graphic Novels for Teens is a list of recommended graphic novels and illustrated nonfiction for those ages 12-18.
- Education World's "Eek! Comics in the Classroom!"A professional development article on " looking for a way to motivate reluctant readers, engage urban youth, develop the comprehension skills of second-language learners, or teach visual literacy to elementary level students."
- GetGraphic.orgSources for teens, parents, teachers and librarians, including news, lesson plans and teaching strategies.
- Graphic Novel ReporterPresented by Bookreporter.com; reviews, features, opinion, and blogging.
- Teacher's Companion to the Anime Companion"A small guide is written to assist in the use of Japanese animation (anime) or comics (manga) in teaching about Japanese culture." By Gilles Poitras.
