Secondary Education Books
Curriculum Changes in Secondary Schools, 1957-2004 by Call Number: LB2806.15 .E89 2005ISBN: 0713040629Publication Date: 2005-08-25
Differentiating the High School Classroom by Call Number: LB1031 .N85 2006ISBN: 1412917158Publication Date: 2005-11-10
Our Education collection and the Curriculum Library is on Level Three of Hammermill Library.
To find books check out our catalog or browse these call number ranges to find books on your subject.
LB1025-1050.75 Teaching (Principles and practice)
LB1049.9-1050.75 Reading
LB1050.9-1091 Educational psychology
LB1101-1139 Child study
LB1603-1696.6 Secondary education. High schools
LB3011-3095 School management and discipline
LB3401-3495 School hygiene / health
LB3602-3640 School life. Student manners and customs
LC149-161 Literacy, Illiteracy
Here are a few titles!
Middle and High School Teaching by Call Number: LB1732 .D9 2006ISBN: 0618435751Publication Date: 2005-08-11
Find Articles!
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
- SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterThis resource contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
- PsycARTICLESFull-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
- Academic Search UltimateContent include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
ebooks from EBSCO
Developing on-Site Sexual Health Services in Secondary Education by ISBN: 9781905818624Publication Date: 2009-04-29
Websites
- Awesome ClipArt for Educators"Provides valuable ed tech resources to incorporate into
K-12 curriculum. Educational topics, preformatted templates, technology tutorials, and practical tips are featured." - Ben's Guide to U. S. Government for Kids."This site provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers. These resources will teach how our government works, the use of the primary source materials of GPO Access, and how one can use GPO Access to carry out their civic responsibilities."
- C-Span ClassroomFree primary source materials for Social Studies teachers.
Includes video. - Calisphere"A world of primary sources...and more."
- Enigeo"Enigeo is a great way to learn countries, capitals and flags around the world in a fun way. You can either answer questions about the countries in a highly customizable quiz or you can just explore the world and learn about different countries." You will have to downloand the software.
- Internet Public Library, K-12 EducationProvides links to some of the best K-12 websites on the Internet.
- Internet4Classrooms - Secondary Math Resources"A free web portal designed to assist anyone who wants to find high-quality, free Internet resources to use in classroom instruction, developing project ideas, reinforcing specific subject matter areas both in the class and at home and even for online technology tutorials."
- PBS Teachers: Resources for the classroom."national web destination for high-quality preK-12 educational resources. Here you'll find classroom materials suitable for a wide range of subjects and grade levels. We provide thousands of lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations. These resources are correlated to state and national educational standards and are tied to PBS' award-winning on-air and online programming like NOVA, Nature, Cyberchase, Between the Lions and more."
- The ClassroomA one-stop education reference site....has a little bit of everything for all levels.
- Thirteen Ed online"Thirteen/WNET New York, PBS's flagship station, developed Thirteen Ed Online. This free service features everything from standards-based lesson plans and classroom activities to a multimedia primer, online mentors, and reviews of curriculum-based Web sites. "
- Youth Media - Internet ArchiveVideos created by (or which are about) teens and young adults are featured in the Youth Media collection.
Young Adult Literature
- Best Books for Young AdultsThe books, recommended for ages 12-18, meet the criteria of both good quality literature and appealing reading for teens including verse novels, graphic novels, fantasy, realistic fiction, comedy, historical fiction and nonfiction.
- Banned or Challenged BooksAmerican Library Association's site for banned and challenged books.
- CyberGuides 6-8, 9-12"Web-delivered units of instruction centered on core works of literature."
- Disscusion GuidesCreated in part with funds granted by the Oregon State Library, these guides contain a summary and discussion questions.
- Folklore and Mythology Electronic TextsA collection of the University of Pittsburgh's.
- Multicultural Young Adult Literature"Selected list of books written by authors of varied cultures and dealing with issues of multiculturalism."
- Teens' Top Ten"Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list, where teens nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year! Nominators are members of teen book groups in fifteen school and public libraries around the country. "
- Web English Teacher: YA Literature"Biographical and critical information and lesson plans, listed by author."
Tough Stuff - Resources for Teens!
- Advocates for Youth"Advocates for Youth champions efforts to help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates believes it can best serve the field by boldly advocating for a more positive and realistic approach to adolescent sexual health. "
- Alcohol: Problems and Solutions"This site was put together by Prof. David J. Hanson from the Sociology Department, the State University of New York, Potsdam, NY. The site presents arguments for lowering the drinking age to 18. It contains extensive lists of works cited and bibliographies. There are links to many scientific studies which support Hanson's claims. This site also contains information on how alcohol effects the body and programs promoting designated drivers."
- Bullying.orgThis site's purpose is to "prevent bullying in our society through education and awareness". They promise "online learning and educational resources in order to help people deal effectively and positively with the act of bullying and its long lasting negative consequences."
- Dealing with Divorce and SeparationAdvice for coping with divorce and separation, specifically for teenage girls.
- Girls Health: Emotions and DepressionGirls Health.gov can help with the up and downs of the emotional teen years.
- Kaiser Family Foundation: Sex EducationLinks surveys, reports and resources for Sex Education, State Health Policy and Youth & HIV/STDs.
- Teen's Health"We're a safe, private place for teens who need honest, accurate information and advice about health, emotions, and life. TeensHealth is accessible 24 hours a day so you can get the doctor-approved information you need to make educated decisions — or help a friend who needs advice. There's a lot of confusing, misleading, and just plain wrong health information on the Web. Our mission is to tell it to you straight." -TeensHealth website
- Teen's Health: Drugs and AlcoholAdvice for teens on smoking, drinking, and doing drugs-- The effect on people's lives.
- TeenPregnancy.comAdvice, F.A.Q.'s, facts, statistics and help.....
- Teens Health: Death and GriefProvides lots of information about death and grieving, including the different ways people grieve, how to cope, what to expect when someone dies, taking care of yourself after a loss, and getting help if you are struggling. Links to related topics are also included.
