Teacher Education Books
Developing a Pedagogy of Teacher Education by Call Number: LB1707 .L68 2006ISBN: 0415367301Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Our Education collection and the Curriculum Library is on Level Three of Hammermill Library.
To find books check out our catalog or browse these call number ranges to find books on your subject.
LB1025-1050.75 Teaching (Principles and practice)
LB1049.9-1050.75 Reading (General)
LB1050.9-1091 Educational psychology
LB1705-2286 Education and training of teachers and administrators
LB1771-1773 Certification of teachers
LB1775-1785 Professional aspects of teaching and school administrators
LB1805-2151 State teachers colleges
LB2165-2278 Teacher training in universities and colleges
LC149-161 Literacy Education (Also LB2844)
Here are a few titles!
Teacher Education in America by Call Number: LB1715 .L73 1999ISBN: 0312164440Publication Date: 1997-02-15- Urban teacher education and teaching : innovative practices for diversity and social justice / edited by R. Patrick Solomon, Dia N.R. Sekayi.Call Number: LC5119.8 .U73 2007ISBN: 0805855017
Find Articles!
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
- SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterThis resource contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
- PsycARTICLESFull-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
- Academic Search UltimateAcademic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed full text journals. Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
ebooks from EBSCO
Transforming Teacher Education Through Service-Learning by Publication Date: 2013-08-01
English Learner Instruction Through Collaboration and Inquiry in Teacher Education by Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Teacher Education for Social Justice by Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Websites
- Center for Teaching Quality (CTQ)"The Center for Teaching Quality seeks to improve student learning and advance the teaching profession by cultivating teacher leadership, conducting timely research, and crafting smart policy — all in an effort to ensure that every student in America has a qualified, well-supported and effective teacher."
- Doing What Works"Get ideas from administrators, teachers and
tech assistance providers around the country...Translate research-based practices into practical tools to improve classroom instruction." - ECS's Education Issues"designed to give you a comprehensive
picture of the education issue that interests you. Each site
has a consistent format to make it easy for you to find
what you need, whether it is news about what states are
doing, the best publications available on the topic you've
selected or a list of other Web sites with good information." - Internet Public Library, Teachers & AdministratorsProvides links to some of the best teacher related sites on the Internet.
- New Teacher Survival GuideFrom Scholastic - Teachers
- Scholastic - Teachers"Find teaching tips and strategies from real teachers. Come back daily for photos and videos of ideas you can use in your classroom."
- Teacher Created Resources - a blog"A blog created by teachers for teachers. Read up on the latest teaching tips, insights, resources, and other tidbits from TC Bear and the editorial team at Teacher Created Resources."
- The ClassroomA one-stop education reference site....has a little bit of everything for all levels.
- Theory into Practice Database"TIP is a tool intended to make learning and instructional theory more accessible to educators. The database contains brief summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction. These theories can also be accessed by learning domains and concepts."
- Usable KnowledgeHarvard's website whose goal is " to provide educational leaders with crisp and convenient access to research that can be used to improve education – learning, teaching, institutional organization, and policy."
- What to expect your first year of teaching. (pdf)Offers tips and strategies for first year teachers.
