Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Higher Education Books
Our Education collection and the Curriculum Library is on Level Three of Hammermill Library.
To find books check out our catalog or browse these call number ranges to find books on your subject.
LB1025-1050.75 Teaching (Principles and practice)
LB1049.9-1050.75 Reading (General)
LB1050.9-1091 Educational psychology
LB2300-2430 Higher education
Here are a few titles!
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases
usually have information about an article (such as the title, author,
name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they
may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Begin your search in these recommended databases:
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
This resource contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed full text journals. Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
"A world of primary sources...and more."
College Source Online
is a database of 55,573 digital college catalogs,
institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources.
Community College Resource Center
"is devoted to conducting both quantitative and qualitative research on community colleges and higher education in general, and to the development of practice and policy that expands access to higher education and promotes success for all students. "
"EDUCAUSE is a nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology."
PBS and NPR are now posting taped interviews and videos of lectures by academics, adding to the growing number of free lectures online. Their site, called Forum Network, makes thousands of lectures available.
Higher Education Best Practices
from the National Education Association.
IPEDS - Integrated Post-secondary Education Data System
"The primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States." From the Federal government.
NCHEMS Information Center for Higher Education Policymaking and Analysis
This website is " An effort to provide higher education policymakers and analysts with the data and information needed to make sound policy decisions. By navigating the links on the left, you'll find comparative data for states and counties, and useful contextual information."
Online Learning Resources
From the National Education Association.
REPORT ON INTERNATIONAL EDUCATIONAL EXCHANGE --"This site is partially supported by a grant from the Bureau of Education and Cultural Affairs at the U.S. Department of State."
Penn State's Center for the Study of Higher Education
" one of the nation’s first research centers established specifically to study postsecondary education policy issues. For over 30 years, research teams composed of nationally recognized faculty, top graduate students, and effective professional staff have been devoted to examining the critical issues that influence the policies and practices of postsecondary institutions."
A one-stop education reference site....has a little bit of everything for all levels.
Higher Education Advocate
"Published six times per year in newsletter format. It highlights trends, legislation, resource material, and local, state, and national news in post-secondary education."
Thought & Action
"This well-respected journal, published once a year, is refereed by an eight-person faculty review panel.
It is designed to provide faculty, staff, and students with an enlightened balance between theory and practice on issues in higher education."
NEA Almanac of Higher Education
"Published annually, provides NEA higher education members with current information on the entire scope of American higher education. It contains up-to-date information on faculty salaries and benefits, the economic conditions in the states, faculty workload, trends in bargaining, and information on non-faculty professionals on campus."
Information Literacy for Higher Education
Information Literacy News Feed