Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed full text journals. Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 1,400 full-text newspapers, provides more than 55 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than one million television and radio news transcripts.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than one million records, with coverage dating as far back as 1930. There is full text for nearly 560 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Subjects include Criminology, Criminal Justice, Demography, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Gender Studies, Marriage and Family, Religion, Sociology and Social Development, Substance Abuse as well as many others.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content , including over eight hundred leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. We now offer 6 archival collections, along with current subscriptions to individual titles accessed through the JSTOR Scholarship Program’s platform for seamless access to the full run of the title.
If you don't see the link below and know the title of your journal, check the journal list here!
French phrase of the day!
ABU : la Bibliothèque Universelle
Free access to the full text of public domain works of close to 100 French authors, fully searchable by author, title or keyword.
News and culture information about francophones in African countries.
Their "mission in the United States is to encourage and develop knowledge of the French language and French and Francophone cultures, and to foster cultural, intellectual and artistic exchanges between the USA and France and the French-speaking countries".
More than 2000 e-texts in French on philosophy, science, classics, literature, history, economics.
Bibliothèque nationale de France
Available in French & English, this website provides the searchable catalog for the French National Library. Internal links include Cultural Events, the Library, Collections, the Digital Library, Practical Information, the BnF Catalogues Services and Virtual Exhibitions.
Portal to french culture information...in french.
Official website of the Cultural Services of the French Embassy.
The official digitization project of the Bibliothèque Nationale, Gallica comprises full-text, images and recordings. Especially rich in 19th century materials, the database includes material as far back as the middle ages. Gallica's "Dossiers" are particularly useful collections of documents in specific areas.
La Cinémathèque française
Links to french cinema...
Ministère de Culture
The French Cultural Ministry web site
Travel and tourism site...includes maps.
Portail du Gouvernement
The French Government website.
Portals to the World - France
Resources Selected by the Library of Congress's subject experts.
BBC - French
Learn French on this free BBC web site with video, interactive exercises, crosswords and more.
Multimedia presentation by SUNY Cortland.
University of Texas's first year french program..
French in Action
52 half-hour video programs in French for college and high school classrooms and adult learners.