Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.
Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed full text journals. Content include academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos which meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Full text is provided for over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 1,400 full-text newspapers, provides more than 55 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than one million television and radio news transcripts.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than one million records, with coverage dating as far back as 1930. There is full text for nearly 560 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Subjects include Criminology, Criminal Justice, Demography, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Gender Studies, Marriage and Family, Religion, Sociology and Social Development, Substance Abuse as well as many others.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content , including over eight hundred leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. We now offer 6 archival collections, along with current subscriptions to individual titles accessed through the JSTOR Scholarship Program’s platform for seamless access to the full run of the title.
"SpanishDict is the world’s largest Spanish-English dictionary, translation, and language learning website. SpanishDict seeks to develop and provide reliable, accurate, easy-to-use resources for learning Spanish."
American Heritage Spanish Dictionary: Spanish/English, Inglés/Español
"This free online Spanish-English translation dictionary is newly revised to include the most current computer, telecommunications, and Internet vocabulary and to include pronunciations in both English and Spanish. Featuring American English and Latin American Spanish, it contains 70,000 entries with more than 120,000 meanings."
Antología de Poesía Española
Electronic texts of Spanish and Latin American poetry from the thirteenth to the nineteenth century. The poetry included is searchable by author or first line. There are both English and Spanish search interfaces for this site, but the text of the poems is available only in Spanish.
Biblioteca Virtual: Miguel de Cervantes
wonderful open-access repository of Spanish historical texts and literature of Spanish and Spanish American writers. Contains biographies, chronologies, complete works, translations, sound recordings, interviews, filmographies, dictionary, images, and more. Officially launched in 1999, number of available works has reached over 22,000. It contains all the works of Cervantes including various historical versions.
COMEDIA: Association for Hispanic Classical Theater (AHCT)
This site features full-text Spanish and English editions of works, criticism, graphics, and bibliographies on Spanish Golden Age comedias. The site also offers access to the association's listserv, which features academic discussions on Spanish comedias.
Corpus del Español
"This website allows you to quickly and easily search more than 100 million words in more than 20,000 Spanish texts from the 1200s to the 1900s."
Portals to the World
Choose your country and find resources selected by Library of Congress's subject experts.
Project Gutenberg: Spanish
Free Spanish electronic books in the public domain.
Spanish Language & Culture
Spanish Language grammar exercises.
Free Spanish Tutorials.
Audiria is an online tool which freely supports your learning of Spanish, offering podcasts to increase your knowledge of the language.
Curso de español!
A thorough online introduction to Spanish which includes grammar, vocabulary, and som cultural information.
Destinos: An Introduction to Spanish
"A video instructional series in Spanish for college and high school classrooms and adult learners; 52 half-hour video programs. Destinos teaches speaking, listening, and comprehension skills in Spanish. This telenovela, or Spanish soap opera, immerses students in everyday situations with native speakers and introduces the cultures, accents, and dialects of Mexico, Spain, Argentina, and Puerto Rico."
Memorize Spanish words and phrases.
Spanish Call Project
A collection of Grammar exercises.
Spanish Verb Forms
From the Dept. of International Language and Culture Studies Indiana University.